Anarcho-Andrei Witness Update: 17 February 2018

It's been a while since my last update, and boy has it been a crazy time!

First, let me start by apologizing for not putting out an update sooner. I recently had to move out of the house I was staying at because my landlords wanted to sell the house. They're great people, and I love them to death, but it couldn't have come at a worse time. You can ask anyone at the Writers' Block about it; I've been a ghost for the last month trying to get everything together.

Well, I've finally moved all the major pieces and am living in my new house now, so I'm good to get back into the swing of things. This is good, because the second semester of law school looks like it's going to be ramping up much harder than last semester. If any of you are the praying kind of people, please, pray for me.

Onto witness business...

As a consequence of me being incognito for the last month, my price feed has lapsed. I've tried repeatedly to restart steemfeed, but there seems to be an issue with my signing key. I'm not sure why, but after a few hours, it rejects my signing key and refuses to update. I've switched to using Conductor instead of running a feed through docker, and the results have been better, but they haven't been the best.

Which brings me to my next point: my RAM usage is quickly catching up to my RAM limit. Again. Looks like it's going to be time to upgrade my server once again. I've already paid through the month for my current instances, but come next month, I'm going to set up 64Gb servers instead. While this is significantly more expensive, the higher prices of SBD and Steem are helping tremendously in that regard. Thanks once again to @jerrybanfield for the generous contribution of 100 Steem to helping me maintain my witness servers.

These new 64Gb servers are going to be run using Conductor instead of Docker. Having looked between the two, Conductor is easier to use and easier to manage. This might end up biting me in the ass later on, as any easy system is also a system that doesn't require a great deal of knowledge to run, and the skills I've gained in troubleshooting Docker may well atrophy. However, I'll give it a shot and see how it goes. Worst case scenario, I abandon Conductor and switch back to Docker.

So that's it for me for these last couple of weeks. Now that I'm effectively settled into my house, it's time to get back to it!


If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet and the Fiction Workshop on Writer's Block.
Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Thanks for the update! I've become very interested in being a witness and it's nice to read about different scenarios that I might run into through updates like these.

Well, you know the drill. Just hang on and keep going. Nothing lasts forever. Good luck with everything man. ;)

Thank you, thank you! I am going to try my best. It's all I can do. :D

Nice to see you back. Was wondering :)

I'm still alive, I promise. :)

Yay, glad to hear that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76