Quick Witness Update- Does this 10 make me look phat?

in #witness-update7 years ago (edited)

So, umm, kind of a big deal. I hit Witness 10 tonight. That's pretty freaking huge to me. If I wasn't swamped in MSP stuff right now I'd be dancing in the streets. There's over 1600 people that vote my Witness. There's about 5000 people in the community I founded with @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut. It's come a long way, and I'm extremely grateful for the support. We have just short of 600 separate delegations for around 200k steem (the largest is 15k SP). We're still under four months. So, feeling pretty good about what we're doing.

If you check my wallet you can see that I'm delegating almost everything I get from my witness back into the community. I don't have a ton of time to curate since MSP keeps me so busy. So, this is a way I can reward the community, help minnows, and provide incentives for things like radio show participation.

I recently changed my Sunday radio show format. What started as a music show is now turning into a chance for anyone to come get 5 min on air with me. So, get your mic, headset, and person into Discord then and feel free to ask me anything or promote what you want to.

Lovejuice went down for a bit. Juice is my sexy little bidbot. I ended up rebuiding it on a brand new server. It's the first time I've been able to do that completely on my own. I'm getting better at the technical side of things. I'm still keeping up my promise to pay people 5SBD from the rewards to write erotica on there. Posts there make under $1, so I'm still paying minnows more than I make from the post. I'll keep doing that. So if you want to get paid for a short erotica story send it my way in discord.

MSP is gonna have some big changes to announce pretty soon. We're working on a governance update. We're working on Community Standards. We're working on solid rules. So far it seems like we have some good foundations. We're trying to position ourselves for growth, better organziation, and allowing more users to work with us. So, stay tuned for that. To be clear we're not changing the mission/charter at all though. We're still spreading the values of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty, helping the Steemit platform grow, and helping to train and retain minnows. We're just tweaking how we do it cause we've learned a lot in the first 4 months we've been here and we're getting ready to retune and greatly expand operations and services.

Speaking of services... I'm looking into creating a new service called the Peace Academy. We've developed a lot of tools and strats to help build communities, manage them, and peacefully interact with one another. I'd like to help more people learn what acting peacefully, with ourselves and others, looks like, and I think the peace academy is the way to do that best. Stay tuned.

I"m not running an RPC node directly, but I'm following the lead of witness combo @followbtcnews and @crimsonclad, and helping to contribute to that as time and free sbd permit.

Technical stuff

What's a witness? Well, there are two forms. One is a server that builds the blockchain from all the actions you do on it. One is a person that operates the server. My server settings haven't really changed for a while. Account creation fee is stable, my pricefeed died briefly on my backup witness server, but it's backup and running. I missed 4 blocks last week, so my total is up to 5. I have a negligible interest on SBD. Things seem pretty healthy especially with polo back. My primary server is hosted through @privex in Germany and my backup is in the US also with @privex.

I'm not effing around on my primary server. Here are some specs for it.

  • 32gb DDR4 RAM
  • Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz
  • 1gbit/s network Germany
  • 2x500gb SSDs

Special Thanks

In addition to the witness voters, MSP cofounders, witnesses, moderators, delegators, members, and visitors, I want to give one special note of thanks to @timcliff. I wouldn't have even gotten close to top 10 if it wasn't for your help. Thank you! Many minnows now benefit because of your help, and I strive to be a better witness every day. I continue to look up to you and thank you for your help.

Sort:  

@aggroed - Amazing journey. Very inspiring for all the minnows and even for Senior Steemians. Not only did you master most of the technical side of the Steemit platform but you unhesitatingly set out to help other Steemians. You also brought in your own flavor of personality. Hats off

Steem on brother! I am proud to see you as witness 10. I am going to add my tiny vote to you as witness.

Due to my schedule and attention needed to parents issues, I can not be in discord chat or steemit chat much but it would be lovely to hear from you - will be a great encouragement for my passion and cause on wildlife. Hope we connect sometime.

Regards,

@vm2904

Congratulations. It feels great to know that we have a witness who cares. I joined Steemit around time when MSP was launched and I became a member early. It's been such a support to so many people.

May I know what your criteria is for delegation? It's a huge support that you have consistently been providing to minnows. Steemit owes you big time for user retention.

Pardon me as a minnow.

What is MSP?

Thank you @Yehey

Good question. I'll make a post.

Salaam Bro, dear today i am steemit because of you.

Please check my post and guide me Thanks. Waiting for your vote & follow me please @mrashid. Thanks for time @ilyastarar.

https://steemit.com/nature/@mrashid/today-my-focus-is-on-the-birds-beautiful-creation-of-god

Keep it up @aggroed you deserve it. I`m surprised to see 32GB ram is enough in your witness position.

The memory requirements for a witness server are actually not as bad as a "full node" or RPC node, since a lot of the plugins are not needed. 32 GB is more than enough with the current blockchain. A lot of witnesses are actually currently able to run with 16.

I understand, thank you @timcliff i run with 16GB but in my current position ( outside top 100 ) is hard to predict how much will i need, so this clarify it

16 works. I'm doing a little overkill since I can afford it and I don't want to ever miss a block over an easily fixed thing like amount of ram.

Congrats on making number 10. Good to hear MSP is going from strength to strength. Gotta make them minnows fat. PAL.

Yep!!
And to start with, the MSP just keeps us from starving! After 2 months I am well fed and on my way to being a fat minnow!!

I need to do a gif of that!! Haha.

In no small part through your own efforts too. Well done you.

Congrats @aggroed! You deserve it. You are one of the hardest working witnesses and you add a ton of value to the community through what you do :)

Thanks Tim. Coming from possibly the single hardest working witness that means a lot. I'm touched and honored. It's a pleasure to serve this community. It's not always fun, but I think it already is and will continue to be the single greatest accomplishment of my life. Thanks for helping me get there and coaching me!

That is amazing!!

Keep doing what you are doing! And we'll be here to keep you at the top representing!

Man! You are busy! Even more than usual!? ?

Anyway, looking forward to the changes coming! Thanks for sharing and again!...Congratz for the 10!!
Peace!

Congratz Aggroed...

AND of course, BIG Kudos 4 the Team You've built both in PAL & MSP !!

Cheers !!

Awesome mate, way to go!

Wow! You are doing AWESOME!

Congrats my friend!

Thanks caco!

Congratulations Aggroed! If anybody deserves to be at the top of the witness list, it is you. The Minnow Support Project is a monumental achievement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66