Steem witness introduction / update #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-introduction7 years ago

Hello fellow Steem users. This is my first witness post and I need your vote! :)

I think decentralized and censorship resistant networks like Steem, IPFS, Freenet, Tor etc, are essential tools for sharing "free" knowledge and avoiding manipulation of our media. By sharing knowledge freely we can all advance quicker and enjoy more interesting parts of life

As a Steem witness my first goal is to contribute to the strength of the Steem network by maintaining a strong and censorship free node.

My Steem witness node is running on a Dedicated OVH server with:

RAM: 32GB
Storage: 2x2TB
Outgoing bandwidth: 500 Mbps
Incoming bandwidth: 1 Gbps

That's more than necessary right now I know, but I figured I'd be ready for Steem to grow :)

I believe Steem encourages authors to create content with more value rather than just "catchy content"/ "clickbait for ads"

I also run a node each for Freenet, IPFS, I2P, Yacy, and sometimes Tor

When I first learned about Bitcoin years ago I liked the idea immediately but I felt that the mining process was a bit flawed because miners are still "centralized" by a few operators wealthy enough to own massive amounts of ASIC miners and located in areas where electricity is very cheap.

One of the things I like most about Steem is that the "miners" are trusted "witnesses" instead of just massive data centers. With this approach we can defend against malicious node operators better than we can with other coins.

For a living I currently operate a CNC router in a local granite shop.

In my spare time I enjoy my little backyard farm, reading, decentralized networking, eating, stand up comedy and so on.

At night I am Batman ;)

Screenshot from 2017-08-13 14-19-16.png

My node has been operating properly for a little over 1 month now but since still very few people know me on Steem.

I need more votes to begin generating blocks.
I would be honored to provide one of your trusted nodes.

Please vote for me @camb as one of your Steem witnesses. https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Thank you!

Sort:  

Nice pig you got there.

Thanks. We're proud of her. She just had her first litter last weekend.

Ohh nice. Always wanted to rear pigs ;-)

It's fairly easy if you have the space and time to feed them every day. It costs about $20 a week to feed one if you're buying grain at a Farm shop. You can probably find a better deal on grain or other feed at one of your local farmers.

Good luck with your witness campaign 🗳

Thank you @drakos and thanks for all your help getting set up!

At night I am Batman

Oh then you have my vote!

Just clicked through the link in the witness report. Wish you all the best!

;) Thank you! I'm happy to have your support.

You may have missed it. On this link, below the list of top witnesses, you need to type in the name of the witness you want to vote for. Only the top 50 witnesses show up in that list. https://steemit.com/~witnesses Just ad @camb in the little vote box.

Screenshot from 2017-08-14 11-24-37.png

Awesome

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52