Witness Server Upgraded to 64GB: Future Proof

in #witness-category7 years ago


Witness Server Upgraded to 64GB: Future Proof


With all the issues, that we have been having with steemit and the expansion of steem running a 16GB Witness server seems far fetched now.

Checking up in the witness channel on steemit.chat I have noticed this and many issues with the size of ram current witnesses have and many have over 16 GBs of ram a couple months ago that was thought to be enough for another couple more months, now since steemit is ever growing at a much faster rate, 16 GB is no match for its growth, Sure a 32 GB upgrade would be sufficient ... but for how long?

64 GB server Maybe 100 GB?


I have decided to fool proof my witness node server , and decided 64 GB is a good amount to maybe run for another couple of months.

The reason being is steemit is not even at half a million users and even than, only half of those accounts are actual humans and active.

By the end of this year this is how my server room will look like for steemit alone.



So I have contacted @privex, @someguy123's crazy cool company among other services. To have my Node Server upgraded up the *** with gadgets!


Here is my new Witness Server stats:


Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Dedicated Server
64GB DDR3 RAM
2x240GB SSD
Xeon E3
20TB BW
consistent 1gbps


image.png
My Server has missed 0 blocks and will intend to keep it that way, by keeping an eye on it on a daily bases, I will also adopt a % to SBD.


c6b8d863f4911c5ba38f5cbc113a91bc--cyberpunk-character-cyberpunk-art.jpg

This post was written on the new @busy.org platform, come check it out.

Image Sources:
1
2
3

vote for @zeartul as witness

Sort:  

That is major ugrade to @zeartul witness server @cleverbot

I'm not clever or.

@zeartul - Yaaayyy. Way to go. Is that why Steemit is faster now? LOL. I know your server or node alone will not improve everything but it is an important contributor to the overall growth of Steemit.
I am happy to be able to provide my small support in your activities. Will keep sending SBDs for your node setups and upgrades as and when I accumulate some from my posts. Steem on !!

Regards,

@vm2904

this is why we support you as our witness. keep doing your thing for us. we appreciate it.

Would be dope to have that room in the basement

I want to be a witness what I should do and I will vote for you as well

good post, thank you for sharing, may your sustenance continue to increase

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 61.82 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @zeartul. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

great info and such a cool picture.

The 3rd one could be from an early Marillion cover.

Awesome! I will also try busy.org today. I used it couple times when Steemit was down. Other than posting photo seemed to troublesome, it was pretty good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10