HOWTO Setup a Witness Node for Yehey! Part-2

in #witness-category7 years ago

This is the continuation of Part-1 for setting up Witness Node server. You have to read the first Part-1 first here:
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@yehey/howto-setup-a-witness-node-for-yehey-part-1

Disclaimer: Continue to read this article if you plan to be a STEEM Witness, otherwise this is a boring article to read but if you are a nerd like me with entrepreneurship in mind believe me it's worth your time.

First, buy or rent a server. It's your decision which one best for you, because that's involve money. Most Witness started with 4GB RAM with 60GB SSD hard disk and other stuff. The faster CPU and more RAM is highly recommended though it will cost you some $$$ to drain. So my suggestion is to start small and affordable, then scale up when it's needed and enjoy being a witness.


Image by krnel

The download still on-going ...

Run wget using gtg.steem.house block log. You can use other seed node, i think.

yehey-witness-node::~/steem/build/programs/steemd/witness_node_data_dir/blockchain# wget https://gtg.steem.house/get/blockchain/block_log

The download will take some time because of the file size ... take a break while the download is in progress.

YEHEY.com.Steem.Witness.wget.blocklog.PNG

Once the block_log download is completed, then we need to run replay.

cd steem/build/programs/steemd, then run command below.

yehey-witness-node:~/steem/build/programs/steemd# steemd --replay-blockchain
Looks like it's working. It will take some time to complete, it's time for a happy dance.

YEHEY.com.Steem.Witness.steemd.replay.PNG

14% complete still in progress ...

YEHEY.com.Steem.Witness.steemd.replay.at.98percent

After some hours of processing, 98% is complete still running ... Yehey! Happy Dance ...

Replay still on-going .....
.
.
.
waiting to complete.

Next is using cli_wallet to generate our wif_private_key.
Open another terminal windows for us to use cli_wallet command, go to steem/build/programs/

yehey-witness-node:~/steem/build/programs/cli_wallet# cli_wallet

Pardon the delay. I am documenting the process while I configure the Witness Node server. In this case, I can share all the errors I encounter, so it will be less troubleshooting when you setup your witness node.

I will update this article as soon as the blockchain replay is completed.

If you think I'm missing something to this procedure, please let me know.
Wish me luck!

And yes, I'am building my Witness Node and Seed Note to serve you all minnows!

Follow me @Yehey. Please Vote Up and RESTEEM.
Thank you

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@yehey/howto-setup-a-witness-node-for-yehey-part-1
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@yehey/color-challenge-friday-blue-in-the-water
https://steemit.com/teamusa/@yehey/3-billions-yahoo-accounts-got-hacked-in-2013

Some references I've used to build my Witness node and Seed node.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97