Witness block missed :-(

Last week, a few hours after me checking on my witness server verifying all is good and the price feeds kept flowing every hour, the server missed it's first block.
Nearly 24 hours later, the server missed a second block. At this point, i was lucky enough @drakos mentioned the issue in the steemit chat witness channel, tagging me so i can be aware of the situation.
At that point i checked and noticed the server froze for some reason. Opened a support case at @privex who hosts the server, and it took at the most 5 minutes to have my server restarted.

Since i install steemfeed.js - an utility that publishes the steem prices for me - with the auto-restart feature, i stopped checking on my server many times daily, but after the blocks missing glitch, i login to the server at least once a day, just to see it's up and running :-)

My seed server ( seed.windforce.farm ) is still humming flawlessly since i turned it on, 6 weeks ago, to the point i login to this server maybe once a week. Really like the "set and forget" experience with that one :-)

Please vote for me as a witness

I kwow i should be doing more "marketing" so more people cast their votes for me as a witness, as my fellow steemian witnesses keep telling me, but as i stated many times before, i am here for the long run, and see the current Steemit ecosystem, in my opinion, in a seed stage, and i am a witness now for barely six weeks, so i prefer that people see my commitment over time.

If you see the current top 200 witnesses ( https://witstats.steemliberator.com/witness_list ) you will notice many witnesses are inactive, even in the top 100 ( some have been inactive for months) .
Please help me or other motivated witnesses jump up in the ranks so the inactive witnesses will disappear down the line.

Please go to the https://steemit.com/~witnesses page, roll down to the bottom of the list, type windforce in the box and click Vote.

Sort:  

Hey, you can check Conductor (created by @furion) to monitor missing blocks and even if you miss any the kill-switch feature can temporary disable your witness until you fix the issue.

Good luck! ;-)

Thank you. I checked conductor last month but seemed complicated to implement while i was in a hurry. I will check it out again, now that things are a little calm :-)

Just how many witnesses are there? Why do we see only the top 100 on steemd ? @windforce

I think 300-400. You can see here a list of the first 200. Pay attention to vote for active witnesses ( green background in the list )
https://witstats.steemliberator.com/witness_list

Thanks I'll take a look. It should be easier to find this kind of info. There's a high churn rate of witnesses?
You just got my witness vote.

It depends. Low churn rates for higher ranked witnesses, quite high after the top 100, since people need to pay the costs of running the server without receiving anything in return...

Quite an expensive proposition if they are not earning anything for their contribution.

By the way @molometer, thank you very much for your vote, really appreciated!

I went through the 'top' 50 and found so many inactives? The witnesses I have voted for are people that I am aware of, who are doing good things on steemit.
You are welcome, you earned my vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74