You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💡 Witness Tips: Seeds Ping Script

in #witness-category7 years ago

hey @drakos, nice script ;)

I checked what you mentioned, and if you take abit's seed for example, the ping doesn't come back however you can actually connect to the seed node (verify with $ telnet steem-seed1.abit-more.com 2001). So I guess abit must've closed his firewall to not answer icmp requests, but the seed is online.

On a related note the seed nodes status is now more resilient to random network errors that some people have been reporting. Although not an real fix for this issue, the page should now properly show those affected nodes as online. (see here)

Sort:  

Ah indeed, I overlooked the possibility of blocked icmp. This is problematic for the purpose of this script, which is to determine the best pings. Let me see if I can find a solution for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59774.28
ETH 2422.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44