You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to become a witness

in #witness-category8 years ago

Thanks for this excellent guide! I have been thinking about trying to become a witness. This guide will really help!

One question regarding the servers. On OVC, they have options for "Dedicated" and "Cloud". The cloud looks cheaper. Do you have any tips/suggestions on which server package is good to choose? (When I searched, the SP-30 under 'RAM Instances' with some additional HD space added in seems like the most affordable option to meet all the requiremets.)

Sort:  

I recommend you chat with some of the expert witnesses in the chat that have more experience running on such services. I'm using my own server, so my experience is a little different. The feeling I get is that if the CPU/RAM match, the bandwidth is really important - if throughput is inconsistent, you might miss blocks because you're too slow to respond. I'm sorry I can't help you more but I've only been running my node for 4 days and this article is the information I collected while doing it.

No problem. Thanks for your reply :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60