You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOBLEWITNESS UPDATE - On Promises, Contracts, and Integrity

A contract? We set a payment plan over 5 weeks not a contract, nobody signed anything. Perhaps I’m new to this whole decentralized thing but there are NO contracts in decentralized.
It was 24 hours after receiving 1 of 5 payments that an offer for the full refund was awarded as an option. Clearly you guys understand my position do you not?
Most ppl would completely understand the circumstances here. Instead you want to get upset when and put people on blast rather than discuss privately.
The minute you guys decided that, I’m happy to be assertive with my point of view.
Sometimes people that charge into battle without all the facts or understanding both sides and why , you should really try to reach out to me before you start talking shit about ppl.
I’ve contributed across this platform greatly. Clearly for you to be so short sighted and quick to pull the trigger on someone really shows you didn’t take the time to get to know me, understand the story, and with limited information make an assumption. Kinda sounds like me huh? Making a decision on limited information about another user... add money, paybacks to loans, and speed of completion i think honestly you’ve managed to surface a flaw in decentralized governance. How do u trust the people on this platform, is there a way to convince a user that the other user is real, legitimate. I still believe that is still unresolved here. It’s a good argueme t to discuss authenticity of users especially when transactions are involved. How do you know. Ultimately i don’t know gmuxx and who knows it could have been a straight up solid 5 weeks deal, but too me it was far more risky of getting screwed vs someone i work with on a daily basis on projects on steem. I’m sorry you don’t agree. You’re entitled to your opinion. Had i known gmuxx as you have I’d think different but i only know what i know.
That’s the best answer i can give you!

Sort:  

Perhaps I’m new to this whole decentralized thing but there are NO contracts in decentralized.

Clearly you are, as contracts exist in a decentralized space. ERC20 tokens are smart contracts. There are contracts everywhere here. Moreover, a signature is not necessary when one party acts in reliance to your promise and substantially performs what they agreed to. You accepted that performance. You constructively bound yourself to the contract you made with Gmuxx.

How do u trust the people on this platform

Well, you could start by honoring contracts and understanding when you've obligated yourself to complete your end of a bargain. That would go a long way to fostering trust between others and you. The fact that you don't believe there are contracts in crypto or on a blockchain should tell anyone who's curious all they need to know about what you think about entering into agreements with others.

The minute you guys decided that, I’m happy to be assertive with my point of view.

Well I'm glad you're happy to keep expounding on how no one should trust you with any business venture or simple agreement.

@anarcho-andrei's analysis matches my understanding of contract law as it exists in many countries.
Early on there was perhaps an "out" that existed depending on the interpretation of the word hold in the phrase "I'll hold it for 4 weeks". However, this out was closed with the later renegotiation of a repayment schedule and then really bound when GMuxx paid the first installment (substantive performance). The time for evaluating risk is before making the agreement.
I fell afoul of this situation myself once when I was like 15/16 years old. It took some explaining to me before I understood why the customs around contracts are the way they are. Glad it happened when I was young and forgivable :)
Gotta say, seller messed up. But, he doesn't have to take my word for it. There's plenty of resources available online about contract law.

Well since @rhodak has stated you guys think I’m a spade, i assume you guys are racist now! Good to know.

That is laughable. Keep digging that hole, bud.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13