A World of Witnesses! Geo-Diversity for a Safer Tomorrow!

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4806.JPG


My primary focus on Steem has and always will be developing business to create jobs for Steemians and demand for Steem, jobs are the lifeblood of any "real-world" economy and the same applies to Steem.

A part of good business practice is effective risk management; let's face it, we live in a bit of a crazy world, who would have predicted the 911 bombings, the latest bombings and killings in London and don't even talk about North Korea's missile production program which has the UN up in arms?

As Steem witness I thought it would be great to mix things up a bit and have a witness and seed node in a different continent where none, have gone before; enter "The first Steem witness in Africa!", located in South Africa the economic hub of Sub-Saharan Africa.

To run a beefy dedicated witness server in South Africa costs up to three times more than most other German or US based services, and when Steem was down below 20 cents I was losing a fair bit money monthly, but that's okay, I have had faith in Steem since I joined in June 2016 and am prepared to HODL through the good and the bad times.

Steem is the backbone of my business projects and the home and place of casual employ to many great writers in the greater Steem community, it has to be secured, that is non-negotiable.

IMG_4781.JPG

By having globally geo-diverse witnesses we can ensure that the Steem blockchain will live on in the face of a global catastrophic event, which may be shrugged off by some, but always better to be safe than sorry. So why not vote for a few witnesses outside of the US and Germany!?

You can see a full list of registered Steem seed nodes at https://status.steemnodes.com/ which is a list maintained by witness @wackou.

Here witness nodes are listed with flags showing their country of locale, looking at the screenshot of my seed node below you can see the South African flag on the left.

You can use this list to find other great geo-diverse witnesses and then vote for them on the link https://steemit.com/~witnesses. There are only 21 listed "online" seeds at the time of writing and two that are "stuck", the rest appear offline, so support those that take the trouble to keep their seed nodes active.

By having a geo-diverse witness it allows other witnesses and RPC nodes to connect to your seed to get blocks rather than having to download them from the US, or EU; coupled with geo-diverse catastrophic event risk management, it really makes sense to spread witnesses around the world!

So if you want to secure the future of Steem and help create jobs on our blockchain, vote for @thecryptodrive witness, currently number 36 on the witness list.

IMG_4802.JPG

P.S. - #suitupforsteem

Credits:
My new "Suit up for Steem" cartoon look, in business suit attire was created with the bitmoji.com app. Feel free to create your own avatar and Suit up for Steem today!

Sort:  

I was thinking about this issue a while ago, but I couldn't find right information about locations. Thanks for link.

love these bitmojis haha. Great post tho!

As someone fairly new to this site,I am still learning about and discovering it's intricacy's! ...
This is a deep and fast running river of content,and tech that is way over my head!...
I appreciate post like this,that are addressing issue that i know little about.I understand the basis of your thought,and agree that we need to protect this great site from intrusive Governments,and the global elite! all one has to do to understand this is look what has happened to any one who challenges the Fed. Resrv. ,and the IMF.
I am glad to see this being addressed. and hope to see this site grow and progress,and if we turn a blind eye to the money lenders and the military ind.comp. that they control,we are sure to fail.
I wish us all continued success! thank you!
namaste

Great comment, I like to see engagement like this on Steem, Steem is a truly amazing "animal" which needs to be protected at all costs, people's newly found incomes are at stake. Welcome to our community, I hope you find your place and become great!

Well said :)

Sharing that right now!

Good insight @thecryptodrive,
It's like being the designated survivor for steemit. Not a bad Idea to hedge against the unknown.

Lool, SteemSurvivor .... that could make for a good TV series :) Thanks for the cool point of view, never thought of that.

I vote for you sir! Good idea about geo-diversity.. there seems to be a glut of servers in Germany.. South African would be welcomed!

Yes you do buddy! Already been witness in SA since October 2016. Thanks for your contributions to our @steemsports project in the past, we hope to work with you again to build the greatest sports community on Steem1

Of course! Ive always got some time for a good Steem project!

You avatar needs more piercings :'D

LOol, I thought we discussed that the number of body piercings is inversely proportional to perceived trust! :)

I am allowed to troll !

Hehe sure, as long as you are a good troll.

You make a great point, @thecryptodrive, and thanks for your concise article doing so. You've now got one of my witness votes.
😄😇😄

@creatr

Geographic diversity is obviously important in retrospect. Perhaps we should look into launching some orbital witness nodes... ;)

Orbital witness nodes sounds so awesome! Wish I was friends with Elon Musk for that :) may be possible in time. Thanks for the witness vote, you rock!

Yeah... If Elon were on my speed dial, I'd hit him up for a slot on one of his upcoming launches... :D

Best wishes on your witness career. ;)

You had me at:

"My primary focus on Steem has and always will be developing business to create jobs for Steemians and demand for Steem..."

Imagine the power we have to built great utility with STEEM. You got my witness vote and I am now following you! Lets grow STEEM together!

Imagined it many times my friend, please follow my blog I will be releasing some Steem business related content in the short term. If you have any business idea for Steem let me know as well.

Waaaww ...... really amazing you @thecryptodrive, explanation there are very useful for me. Yes I am still very new and I hope to stay with you like in Steemit, in other words I want to be like you. As a new member in auto steemit I will be going through a tough time in Esteem. After reading your article @thecryptodrive, I get excited. I will follow your article and post always @ thecryptodrive, before thank you for your vote in my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65