You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @yabapmatt's June Witness Update

Hi Yabapmatt! Really love your projects and time taken to give to the Steem community that we all are here for. I'm wondering since you've been a developer for most of your life, what advice would you give on how to start and manage new software projects and how do you verify that you've achieved your original goals? Also whats your team management method that works for you?

Voted for you for Witness! Keep it up.

Sort:  

Those are all pretty involved questions and i'm not sure I can adequately answer them in a short comment, but i'll try my best!

Starting a software project is easy, finishing / releasing it is hard. I try to always make sure I'm realistic about what I can accomplish and what time and resources I have available so that I don't bite off more than I can chew. Also I like to stick to languages and tools that I'm familiar with and that I know will work since it's easy to get distracted with the latest new fancy things which often wastes a lot of time.

Verifying if you've achieved your goals is easy. Just write them down when you start and you can easily check if you've achieved them or not.

As for team management, typically I find that the better the team you have, the less management is needed. If management is becoming an issue then it's an indicator to me that there are issues with one or more of the team members.

Hope that helps, and thank you for your vote!

I know its impossible to cover such topics but really thank you for your brief but great insight! I've always been in the IT field and enjoy using a wide variety of skills and technologies. I always find I enjoy too many hobbies/technologies and rarely find the time to finish side projects or get particulary amazing at any one.

I'm currently juggling Node JS and Django projects and going to stick with these for the time being :)

What are your favourite frameworks or guilty passions? (Mine is a inhouse app built using Paradox off a trial CD that pretty much ran production)

Really enjoy SteemMonsters and wish it is even more successful once the fighting/trading is out! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78