Sort:  

One should consider that actived engaged people on Steem are probably a little more interested in decentralized systems then 'nocoiners'. Therefore they could be engaged with many different projects in the domain.

It's easy to place the 'lazy' label and put the responsibility with the user. However, if we want mass adoption, we should make things as simple and smooth as possible.

I totally agree that lazy was a poor choice of word. I shouldn t write comments at 4am =D
I rather meant a lack of engagement. Witnesses is one more concept to assimilate on the blockchain, and one that is not of direct concern for most users.

Making things simpler sure, but how?
I am thinking adding the number of witness voted on the user profile could be beneficial as some users who don t really know about witnesses could get curious about it and go check it out. Right now the witness voting page is not easy to access at all.
Any other idea?

There are many ideas. But I guess merits per idea will be proven as they get implemented. It's difficult to see in the future and make informed decisions as to what works best. Game theory and such provide little help. I'm waiting for SMTs to come out, branch out and use different strategies. Then we can see what works. Probably Steemit INC will monitor successfull strategies closely and possibly implement such ideas on the main chain as well.

I just hope they are productive and fast enough to keep the edge. There are many projects that are trying to bring competition in this field.

I've taken a wait and see approach with witnesses, and have voted for a handful, but don't vote for those I don't feel strongly about.

I don't mind keeping my options open. Using all of your votes isn't necessarily a good idea, imo.

Posted using Partiko Android

As I said above, the "lazy" was a poor choice of word.
Glad to see you re doing your due diligence before voting, I also have a few votes left.
What we need is a way to convince most users that they should care about that. As @fitzgibbon stated above, simplifying the process could also go a long way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65