Witness Price Feed Disruption - Most feeds offline

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

Unfortunately, due to some strange issue in STEEM, many price feeds, including those of the top 19 are offline.

This issue affects both my own feed script, as well as @Jesta's, and possibly many more. Most witnesses are displaying prices from 10-20 hours ago if not more.

Discussion in the witness channel on STEEMIT.CHAT shows this may be related to @jesta's node crashing, however I have experienced the same issues publishing my feed via the official STEEMIT INC. websocket server wss://steemd.steemit.com. EDIT: Actually it works fine, the broadcast errors I had seen in my logs may have been due to it attempting to use both nodes

It's unknown how long this issue will last for, and how it will be resolved, however hopefully there are no major price swings that could cause negative effects from feeds being offline.

UPDATE - The issue was mostly related to @jesta's node.steem.ws going offline. This issue will be resolved once his node resyncs, however there is an underlying issue possibly related to that crash that probably needs investigated

An issue has been filed on GitHub, in hopes of STEEM developers investigating: https://github.com/steemit/steem/issues/878

Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Sort:  

Upvoting and resteeming for visibility!
Great catch!
Everyone that sees this, please resteem it. We need to get the word out.

Mine seems to be working fine, I just forgot to run it after rebooting my pc :)

Also, no issues on node, running 0.16.3

So there's a centralization risk behind everyone relying on node.steem.ws, no?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72