[WITNESS] Missing blocks? Did you just get a "Core Dumped" error? Time to increase your shared memory!

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Just a short post for all of the witnesses panicking right now.

IF YOUR WITNESS HAS NOT CRASHED, BUT YOU'RE STILL MISSING BLOCKS, IT'S NORMAL. Check out the witness-blocks channel on steemit.chat and you'll see tons of witnesses are now missing blocks. Seems HF19 is not a smooth upgrade. No known fix, but seems to be improving over time (possibly just a hiccup near launch time).

If you got something like this in your logs, and now your witness is dead:

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'boost::interprocess::bad_alloc'
  what():  boost::interprocess::bad_alloc
Aborted (core dumped)

You need to increase your shared memory file to 10GB instead of 8GB.

shared-file-size = 10G

Remember to make sure you have enough RAM for this!

Don't forget to increase your /dev/shm

If using steem-in-a-box

./run.sh shm_size 10G

NOTE: Steemit.Chat is down again. But you can join us on the Peace Abundance and Liberty Discord @ https://discord.gg/wzsaxvC

Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Have you ever thought about being a witness yourself? Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT, or just ask in the witness channel. I'm happy to guide you! Join in shaping the STEEM economy.

Are you looking for a new server provider? My company @privex offers highly-reliable and affordable dedicated and virtual servers for STEEM, LTC, and BTC! Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT for more information.

Sort:  

Thanks for getting this important info out there! :)

Thanks for the notice @someguy123

When I started up my new witness nodes I didn't want to take anything on chance so I've allocated a fair amount of memory to the blockchain.

My two witness nodes are running with the setting
shared-file-size = 21G

I can currently see that they are using around 8.8G for the shared_memory file, and that's probably why some nodes crashed when the file grew larger than the allocated space.

Nice to see all the witnesses back to normal again :)

Chat has crashed

The blockchain seems to be up, but Steemit.chat has 502 bad gateway.

I'm not sure all of us had quite understood hat the new rules would be backdated to all existing votes not yet paid out. But that means the witness servers must be doing 7 days worth of calculations as fast as possible. Not surprised with the hiccups.
Good work in keeping us informed.

What is the problem. Are we putting smiles on people's faces? Say cheese 😊😊

The face of a wealthy man reacts in a slightly different way to that of a regular man. It's barely noticeable, however the time reactions of that smile reveal it all ;) Steemit's making a lot of people vurrrrry happy :D

Crash reason confirmed

The witness nodes are crashing on news that I am making money on Steem now! Noob @uruiamme for the win!

Thanks hard for the hard fork! I guess this is going to bring back the whales from hiding, because the newbies are seeing massive improvements in payouts.

Thank you witnesses for choosing to increase minnow voting power. I hope the other aspect of the voting (increase in recovery time) works for everyone.

Thanks for the critical information when it counts. I just noticed a simple comment upvote from me moving the needle eight cents instead of the usual 0-1 cents. I'm all for my minnow votes going further so long as the system doesn't have too turbulent a transition.

that's too technical for me....hehehehhe

Thank you and all the other witnesses for such a smooth transition to the new hardfork!
I hope everything is going well

Being a witness is a hard job it would seem. Us users definetely tend to forget that. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97