STEEM HardFork 19 due 2017-06-20 (6 days from now)

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

In 6 days, we'll be locking in HF19. One of the many roles of a witness is to decide whether a hard fork is good or bad. I personally don't see any issues with HF19, and will be updating at least 24 hours before.

The biggest change users will notice, is the Linear Rewards Curve. This makes votes more "fair". Read more here

What's new?

Updating to HF19

As far as I'm aware, there are no breaking technical changes for node operators. Steem-in-a-box currently has a HF19 RC available (must manually install via docker), and I will publish a new dockerhub release when HF19 is finalized.

If you're running Steem-in-a-box and would like to try out HF19 prior to release (may be unstable!):

docker pull someguy123/steem:v0.19.0rc2

Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?


Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.


Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Have you ever thought about being a witness yourself? Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT, I'm happy to guide you! Join in shaping the STEEM economy.

Are you looking for a new server provider? My company @privex offers highly-reliable and affordable dedicated and virtual servers for STEEM, LTC, and BTC! Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT for more information.

Sort:  

Yes!! My votes are about to go from $0.05 to $0.2, I'm a happy dude.

How do you calculate the vote price?

I see an issue in that some others seem to agree with. Most people will only vote 10 times a day now. This creates an incentive to vote for yourself. It is easy and fast to vote 10 times on yourself because that is only 10 comments you need to make. Currently if you wamt to vote on yourself 40 times per day you need 40 comments to upvote. I dont like this change.

Yes i am aware that you can set the power of your vote and all that, but I am saying this incentivizes voting for yourself more than currently.

Good point. Add to it that not all steemians can adjust their voting power.

Making voting more fair is like music to my ears. You put in a couple of hours and you make only cents, that has been some of my earlier experience. Looking forward to a more rewarding experience here not only financially but socially as well.

So in the linear curation reward update, will that help minnows get more curation starting off? I do need to do some more research on some of the platforms so I can finish voting for witnesses. Thanks for sharing :)

It's definitely possible it will help minnows get more voting power, I'm not sure how it affects curation, but I can only assume that increased voting power = higher curation rewards

Ok thanks. Also, the max vote is being raised from .5% to 2% which will drain voting power faster. Will it also regenerate faster? I like the idea of it benefiting more active users.

What's the rationale behind "You can no longer delete comments that have a positive vote"? And does that apply to top level posts as well?

Yes, not being able to edit them would make some sense at least, but not being able to hide ("delete") them I'm not sure why.

Very excited to see the new "Linear Rewards Curve" in action. Now if we can work on making it easier for new users to create an account. Steemit will continue to boom. Thanks for all your hard work. Voted for Witness!

It's kind of funny that we call it that, isn't it.... a "linear curve"

Thanks for the update! This will change everything and in my opinion it is what will propel this platform into the future! The fairness of Steemit voting was always in question. I feel like this is a step forward in a big way!

voting for you to witness now!

Anything to make steem find its right place in the block chain world . a grossly undervalued asset

Think the lineair reward will make steemit more interesting for new people. On the other hand, allready having a waiting lists shows how Many people are trying to get in. Will that issue Also be solved soon?

@@ -4,16 +4,29 @@
d effort
+, @someguy123
. Keep u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65