Quick Tech Update: The sircork witness is indeed temporarily manually disabled for upgrades and software updates and to make me go nuts, mostly.

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)


Hey there,steemitizens,

This is my life right now, running on a quick 4 hour nap in my desk chair, after having our witness offline for what should have only been just some quick updates and a nic card replacement for the last twenty four hours so far.

I should have never said "only"...

sigh

I got an opportunity to save some money by taking advantage of a promotional offer from one of my multiple hosting companies I use for my projects, and companies and clients. I jumped on it, because it offered a machine with much bigger processors and drives than the one I had already for our team witness.

Welp. No good deed goes unpunished!

The new server was AWESOME and blazing fast. For about 5 minutes. I noticed replaying the chain to it as I built the witness software was taking treacherously long. I disabled my current server, and tried many things, but as the night and day wore on, I had connections issues just killing me. The machine would run, the replays would go... sloooooowly. And i'd keep getting disconnected. It was unbearably frustrating.

I immediately reported a potential failing nic card in the new server to my tech support team, and they began diagnostics proving me correct. We replaced the nic card.

Then I began replaying again, much better this time... except it would keep stalling at about the 14 millionth block and would halt. Starting the node would result in a replay starting over. and over. and over.

We all expected the NIC card so we replaced it, but not lucky because issues persisted, more diags ran and then it turned out to be a failed physical RAM issue, so we replaced all 128gb with new sticks. FINALLY the machine passed the tests and seems to be totally solid with new nic and ram onboard. New replay underway for the 3rd or 4th time since provisioning this new equipment. All seems to be going well at last.

Back to the current box. Fired it up, stalled and reports beginning a chain with zero blocks. Wtf? It was running fine for a month or more since the 64gb upgrade in early march, just hours ago?

I found it was no longer able to reach its chosen seed nodes and fixed that with some trial and error to find one actually responding at all, and kicked it all off again. And so it too began replaying. Hopefully to actually complete this time.

So this is how we witnesses spend our days.

Sometimes.

Sometimes it just works, and other times it's just work.

And so it goes.

We will be back online shortly, the chain will live without us in the meantime maybe, and we will consider ourselves lucky this is only the third time in 8 months of witnessing that we have been down at ALL, still maintaining a very health position in the not very many blocks missed listings, and in this instance, having missed no blocks at all, because it is a controlled, intended outage that just happens to be taking an unintended extra long damn time. And we regret that.

[edit] We are back online after a 36 hour outage and once again smoothly producing blocks on 8 XEON processors, with 24 cores, 128g of RAM and sizzling fast, low latency, high speed gigabit connectivity from our west coast USA data center.[/edit]

Sincerely, your diligent, dedicated, upgrading, nerdy but sometimes borked, witness team CTO,
@SirCork
on behalf of Team Three Headed Beast, witness #64, in full partnership with CMO @RhondaK and CFO @Beanz

Sort:  

Keep at it... Your dedication is definitely not lost on us... Sounds like a gruiling couple of days. Hope you can get some rest once it passes a successful replay.

I think I am almost there! :D

Wow mind blowing keep working hard dedicated witness @sircork I am glad your still maintaining a good position or healthy position as you said in the blocks listings.
It is a good thing your back online and I am glad to be on your blog tonight.
Stay fit, keep up the good work.
Remain Excellent @Sircork.

So this is what a dedicated, awesome, hard-working witness looks like...

Fully appreciate what u do @sir-cork
Steemit warrior

I live for this stuff @chelsea88
Steemit explorer

I too live 4 it 🖖

Thank you so much for your efforts in ensuring the smooth operation of the steem blockchain in your capacity. I highly appreciate you, here is a big hugg from me to youunnamed (2).gif

I wish you more strength

Thank you that is super encouraging at this late hour of 2:45 am, in my 2cd full day of working on this stressful issue. :)

Oohs it's so sweet.......

Dang, sorry you are having so many issues. I always have issues with my server, its usually user ignorance though. Wish you the best of luck with getting it back online, sorry I am not much help :)

It's not my fault in either case, which is why it's frustrating. If it were my fault, I'd be less ticked off about being awake for 36 hours because of it.

Miss seeing you in chat, dawg. Don't be a stranger.

Technology can be such a colossal pain in the arse, when it works it’s fantastic but solving even tiny problems can take forever, be frustrating and often it’s the last thing you think of that was causing the problems.

At least it’s back up and running now, and you will hopefully be able to find blocks a little more quicker?

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Almost back up and running, here in hour 30-something... but so close now...

Friggin Right!

Sometimes it just works, and other times it's just work.

Hope it decides to behave soon....

Dude, I am so sorry, IT issues can be a bitch--and me stressing about making a gif. lol

Well, I got your gif down to 747.1 kb, just under 1 MB. and this is what it looks like now:

sircork_witness2.gif

Sounds like you could use some good news. Hope this makes your evening a little better. Now go to sleep.

Can't go to sleep, clown will eat me!

Nice gif! Love it and snagging it from here right now! :)
Thank you for that from all of us! <3

You are more than welcome. I give what I can and am happy to be a small part of your good works you three headed beast witnesses and philanthropists.

< g > i hear you...had something similar (although for me it was just 6 hours that felt like 36 :-) )...I had similar issues when updating my witness after the memory problems when we went past 32 GB ( i had 64GB RAM but the witness was not configured to use them properly).
Anyway good to know you guys are back up and running!

Every update is a real adventure. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55