Sort:  

okay.png c'est fait ^_^

Merci beaucoup!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for all the effort you put in to being a witness.

Thank you 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great update! I haven't seen a lot of witnesses running 32gb of ram, and I'm trying to set up a test witness right now on a gaming laptop with about the same specs as your servers. Could you help me out with the configuration on it? Haven't been able to figure out what I need to change for the smaller amount of RAM.

Cheers,
petertag

Hi Petertag.

There is a compilation parameter that allows a witness to use less memory. Also you need to setup a disk swap or zram swap to compensate for the lack of memory. The blockchain uses more than 32GB of RAM so it will “overflow” onto the swap.

Check this: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@drakos/running-a-witness-node-v0-19-4
You need to update the branch to v0.20.2

You can also use the Steem-in-a-box project by @someguy123 that uses Docker to virtualise the witness, makes it simpler to start.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the quick reply! I did compile with low-memory-node on, so that's fine. That @drakos tutorial was exactly what I was looking for, couldn't figure out the amount of swap space I would need and lots of different configs I've seen for it. Downloading the block_log now (already on v0.20.2), so I'll see how it goes tomorrow! Thanks again!

Good luck

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72