Sort:  

Just took the time to vote for you finally. It was on my todo list.

Continue le bon boulot!

Super sympa, merci!

More and more makes sense with each blog, thanks :)
Pece.

First of all, congratulations on your second block!

Second of all, thanks for explaining what the block is for and all.

Third of all, if all the witnesses are offline, that means no Steemit? or if only a couple are online, that means slow connection to Steemit? So where is the data/blocks stored? On each witness computer or server?

Sorry, I'm no IT person so my knowledge and understanding only goes so far.

Very good questions of which I’m still studying. My current understanding is if there are no more witnesses then you cannot add anything new to the blockchain ie no new post, comment, upvote, transfers etc... existing ones should still be available on seed nodes. But this assumption might be wrong, I’m still digging through the search and planning to ask some of the top witnesses. The blockchain is stored on witnesses servers and seed servers.

As soon as understand that bit, I will share it in a next report.

Thanks for the info. I remember reading somewhere as a witness you would need to leave your computer on. Anyways I will wait for your next report to learn some more. Cheers!

That is correct. The witness server needs to be on 24/7/365.25.
But I'm a backup witness (not top 20) so my server uptime is not critical.

My witness server is not on a personal computer at home, I'm renting a dedicated server that is not even in my own country. Currently, I'm paying it off my own pocket and the STEEM I earn every time I generate a block is far from generating enough money to pay off the server itself. So I'm working my way up by getting more witness votes in order to at least generate enough to now worry about the rental fees because as Steem gets more popular, witnesses servers need to be upgraded. My current server has 32GB of memory and is at the limit, in few weeks 32GB won't be enough and I will have to upgrade to 64GB or continue using memory compression that makes my server a little slower. The upgrades means I'll have to pay USD100+ per month.

lol I didn't know there is exactly 365.25 days in a year. Cool fact!

Dam not cheap to rent a server.
Great to see you are serious about becoming a witness and eager to learn more about it. Also thanks for sharing and taking the time to explain things to us.
I'll go cast a witness vote for you now.

haha :-) we get a 29th of Feb every 4 years. So that's in average 0.25 extra day per year.

Thanks for your support, I'll do my best.

Thank you for the mention... I was happy to see that this week you were actually witnessing some transactions. I was a little jealous but happy for you, because seeing where you were and where you are now, I know you did a lot of hard work. Please keep doing you, together we will build a great community.

Don't give up my friend. Continue helping the community and you will get rewarded too!

I wish they can run on window too ... Thanks for the share. I think now I know the important part of the witness ...

I’m glad the article was valuable to you.
The witness script won’t run natively on windows but you could run it in a Ubuntu inside a virtual machine (VirtualBox). However, I suspect the performance will be affected and you still need to assign around 48GB of RAM to the virtual machine.

I did a noob trial it seem everything mess up I can't have both os on the same pc hardrive. Still figure out how but one thing for sure is better to have another on for server ... hope I can get more details on the other side of it... Thanks for the quick reply

Have it running on Windows is not impossible but the risk is you might miss a lot of blocks because the process might not be as smooth as it should.

The easiest guide I know is this one:
https://steemit.com/steem/@someguy123/your-guide-to-setting-up-a-witness-server-steem-in-a-box-hf19

It is using Docker which pulls a prebuilt image and creates a VM that loads that image.

There are other tutorials and videos out there that describes compiling the witness program itself which takes more time and require a better understanding of the Linux system.

That the least information I need to start for now.. I will catch you up again later ...Thanks

This article is really important. Because I didn't notice there's witness in this community. I'm really happy to hear it. I don't have much vests but I gave my witness vote to you. This will be my second vote for a witness. And I hope it will help you even it's not much.

Thank you.
Remember, you have 30 votes available. If you don’t know how to choose a witness, you can visit their profile and see what they do and see if you like that. Or choose someone you trust and set them as your voting proxy, who ever the proxy votes for, you will be automatically voting for the same.

Thank you very much my Asian friend! Everytime someone asks for a guy that is pro at Linux I tell them "Quochuy", I hope you get many more votes!

Thanks for sharing about the witness server in a layman term ahaha.

I have made a post a month ago explaining about Blockchain in case anyone curious about it

Nice mate.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 79 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42