Sort:  

Meanwhile though, in reality, that's exactly how real life works!

Be part of the change you want to see in the world

Given that the worldwide humanitarian aid organization I created here has LITERALLY saved lives of the unfortunate, and quite assuredly, thousands of disadvantaged lives have been touched.... while other witnesses did what? In some cases not a doggamn thing of any use to the world at all (most cases really to be honest) Welp, okay, that's a pretty ridiculous response. Get back to me when any other witness has actually "changed the world" with steem like I have with the aid our network of agents and generous donors here providing food, construction labor, medicine, clothing, shoes, seeds and educational supplies to homeless, orphans, sick and dying and entire villages of people among other things in a dozen countries around the globe.

Want me to point at myself or what?

Get back to me when any other witness has actually [done more good than myself]

Are you trying to reach a new level of arrogance with every new comment?

There are some grains of salt in your criticism of course. Your generalizations and switching and mixing of issues and people prevent to focus on them though. That way you won't reach anything, boy.

Ouch. . .wow. . .yikes. Things did take a nasty turn here. But you can expect me to side with Cork, if not in tone, then in principle. It's the effective charity work that made me want to align with his witness and become part of it. Those accomplishments are irrefutable. I realize that in a cutthroat world, altruism and philanthropy are the wrong horses to bet on. But I'll put my money on them every time, regardless.

Cork's "delivery" doesn't bother me overmuch because I'd rather see someone walk the walk than talk the talk. Is it really arrogance if it's true? Maybe, but how else would the point get made? This is the Wild West, and everyone is scrabbling for a foothold. I'd like to see less nastiness on the platform overall. But I can dream, right?

For what it's worth, I am for things that make sense. Decaying vote power for dead or dying witnesses is logical. A voting page with more than 50 choices is logical, as well. The platform is growing. These types of things need to grow with it.

Anyone who thinks we don't have problems here at Steemit needs only to look at the statistics published last week by paulag . New user signup is down by 50%. That should be scaring the shit out of anyone with a vested interest in the platform. Or maybe I just don't know what's happening behind the scenes, i.e.: if there's a reason investors want users to go away. The only thing I can do is assure everyone that I'm doing everything in my power to make this a place where content creators feel welcome and appreciated. That in itself is a battle royale in the current paradigm.

Becoming part of a witness team with Sircork (or anyone else) is not going to give me an edge with that. I know this. I labor under no misapprehension. But I do think top level witnesses are out of touch with things happening at the "street level" of Steemit. Basically what I've seen in this conversation is Cork raising his voice to be heard over the noise, and feeling frustrated at the amount of effort it takes to get a point across. Maybe witnesses do need better communication across the ranks. I think the business model of Steemit will have to incorporate a lot of changes like that to make it as scaleable as it needs to be to survive.

Sure, side with him, I didn't even get what exactly he was trying to tell me in between all the generalizations and accusations.
Unfortunately, your comment didn't help to clear that up at all, just going the same route. The two specific points you repeated are targeted at steemit inc. and have been acknowledged and explained by luke and me. I wouldn't say we disagree, but we surely rate the severance of these issues differently.

top level witnesses are out of touch with things happening at the "street level"

Where is the magic line for that to end? Witness 21? In the paragraph before you were talking about investors. Now which of those groups is at fault? Are they all the same maybe? Or is there a certain amount of SP at which you become one of those that don't care? And jerry is the grand exception?

hi dear /@pharesim
you are very greatfull man your article is very favorite to me
promise i read your article everyday

@pharesim....thanks so much
You upvoted one of my recent post
One love

Boy, Ha, I was working in tech before you were born Son, the problem is not in my delivery, it's in your inability to either acknowledge or recognize things that require more wisdom than you've ever earned or accumulated. Son

Well, welcome to the world of blockchains. Things are a bit different here, but I bet even an old man like you can adapt.

Welcome to the internet, I remember when it didn't exist, and when I wrote my first applications for a salary on in the late 90s. Perhaps one day your youthful exuberance and starry eyed, idealistic point of view will mature in a fuller understanding of where you are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97