Witness Server Update - Lesson Learned - Waiting for OVH Provisioning :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

If anyone has any ideas about using Linode for a Witness node, I can tell you my experience was not good.  They throttle the connection speed and processor speed down after about 12 hours. I contacted tech support and they said that the connection speed would only be 10Mbps because of the amount of traffic.  Needless to say, I cancelled my service with them. 

I am currently waiting for OVH to finish provisioning my new dedicated servers and then I will be up and running soon. 

My new servers are:

FULL NODE: 

CPU:  Intel  Xeon E5-1650v3 - 6c/12t - 3.5GHz /3.8GHz 

RAM:  128GB DDR4 ECC 2133 MHz 

Disks:  SoftRaid 2x450GB NVME


SEED NODE: 

CPU:  Intel  Xeon E5-1650v3 - 6c/12t - 3.5GHz /3.8GHz 

RAM:  64GB DDR4 ECC 2133 MHz 

Disks:  SoftRaid 2x450GB NVME


I apologize for prematurely announcing my plans to be a witness. I do fully intend on helping to support the Steem network for the long term. I will let you know as soon as I am up and running again. OVH shows up to 24hours to provision the servers since I switched to NVME drives. 

Have a Steemy Day!

Sort:  

Seed node doesn't need to be overkill in specs because it's not as critical as a witness node. You can get by fine with 32GB RAM and a good SSD storage. Even for the witness node 128GB is too much. A 32-64GB with NVME will run perfectly fine.

Thank you. I will see if I can bump them down and save some money then. :)

We have had issues with Linode for hosting Web & Email servers also. Good move on cancelling them. They used to be very reliable, but not for the last year or so.

Thank you. I saw recommendations for other providers when I decided to setup a witness server, but I had some credit left on Linode and had no issues using them as a webhost for the last few years. They were a very bad choice for this purpose however.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46