How to vote for l0k1's witnesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Because



of my somewhat ambiguous looking username, people find it difficult to vote for me, so, I made a little clip to help people know how to do it:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses is the page you need to go to to do this.

In the clip, I show you how you vote for me. The only tricky part, is that you have to spell my username correctly. It is the letter L, the number zero (0), k, and then one (1). l0k1. It's easiest to just select my username and copy it, if you are unsure, and paste it into the spot where I show you how to type it in the screen video capture.

Thanks in advance to anyone who votes for me.

I got pretty upset with Steemit, Inc, a couple of months ago, and felt like, most importantly, that the people developing this platform were unsympathetic to the plight of the newbies and poor people here - and of course this is a terrible thing for adoption, which meant, in my mind, that this thing was going nowhere.

But they pulled their socks up, and delivered what was demanded, and I am feeling much more positively towards this platform, so I set up my witness again, and though it's not making much money for me, it's making more than it costs me.

I would like it very much if I was at least above position 50, but as I say, I'm not losing money on this, and I think that anyone who knows my work would realise that I am on a mission to inflict a distributed web onto the world, and I see Steem as the bridge to that, possibly, not even just the bridge, but potentially, the whole road. And the rest of it... Unlike most witnesses, I am not going to promise that I will build systems that integrate with steem and enhance it, no, I intend to play a role in making it the foundation of what I would otherwise have been building with the Dawn Network.

In my opinion, monetisation of user generated content is THE killer app on the internet. But I go further than that, I say that delivering it, and certifying the deliveries, should also be monetised. These are things that I can build alongside the Steem blockchain, and potentially, could eliminate a cost for Steemit, Inc, in their CDN system that caches images linked to in posts, and possibly implement a way for those who cache and upload it to users to get paid for this service.

It's very a very serious problem. @papapepper has just posted today, I think it was, about the idea of organising a crowdfund to implement a better search engine for steem, and I think this is a great idea. But how are the hosts of the servers running this service going to pay for their costs?

Nobody else in the crypto community, except LBRY people even have any concept that a media monetisation and distribution system is THE way forward, not this smart contracts running on virtual machines, not (just) private ledger entries, but something that actually has a real chance at unseating Faceberk, Shitter and reddit... then Steem is the platform that has the most potential and capability to actually realise the implementation of not just a peer to peer media distribution and monetisation system, but a total and superior replacement for all existing social networks (and I include that vile chinese thing as well, in that). And the whole web!

So, I would like to suggest to you, that a vote for my witness, is a vote for the supremacy of Steem on the internet. I am a huge supporter of this platform, and I have already earned quite a payback for my loyalty, and I think that this model is one that within 2 years everyone is going to agree is the way forward. So, we gotta build out the rest of the system. Steem, right now, is like a community center, helping connect people, but there isn't a little cafe at the side for people to chat and drink coffees or beers, there isn't the marketplace outside where people can sell their wares, and there isn't any robots serving drinks for us!

This is what I want, and this is what I am working towards, and I apologise for abandoning you guys for a few months, but it was not the general concept, nor most of the people, that I wanted to abandon, it was the possibility that Steemit was just another faceless, uncaring american corporation that is only looking out to make a buck out of me, by hook or by crook. But they have amply demonstrated their sympathy and humanity and finally made changes that the cries of the community called for, and look at things now. 2 dollar steem, and growing userbase, a massive increase in content uploaded to the chain, and a buoyant, upbeat vibe has returned.

We told them this would happen, and it did, down to the last little bit.

I'm not a materialistic person at all, I value most intimacy and honesty and loyalty from other people, I don't really care so much about the money, but as I am trying to build things there is no way I can do alone, I need money, the necessary tool for turning 'interested' into 'ok, what do you want me to do' with the people who would actually do the work.

Of course I will do some of the work myself, and I have done plenty already with my various, evolving concepts for improving things, but as I accumulate sufficient surplus, I am looking for ways to both make more surplus, and increase the beneficial effect of my presence in the world, and rightfully earn the respect of my peers.

Thanks for reading, and voting, and I hope you have a wonderful, mind blowing, exciting and productive day :)

l0k1

Sort:  

I like your mission but before I upvote you as a witness-category, I want to ask. Do you want to upvote our post which steem powernya still very small? If you want to upvote because of our good article, maybe we are not smart people in that regard. If indeed we can write well we must sell it in the company of world magazine. I see the witnesses are very arrogant, let alone to upvote us, our comments are ignored not even want to reply even if only one word. If indeed you want to help us, I would suggest my friends in aceh steemit community to do the same with me. Although we are not how much but the aceh tag is ours.

Selamat Datang!

I am actually part indonesian, my Oma and Opa (her father was swiss, and her mother was a indonsian slave, i mean 'concubine' - well, maybe that's not necessarily slavery, and I am now unable to ask anyone who could tell me more about it because they are all dead) met in West Irian, and my dad... he looks a bit like me, but really dark skinned, of course. He is blacker than my Oma was, in fact.

I don't have that much steem power, and at 100% maybe I give you 30 cents. But I periodically scan my feed and scroll down a little way, and click on anything that looks interesting. But I don't give my votes unless I really think the post deserves it, I just simply don't do that much curation, in general. Being that my interests are primarily highly technical, or on big picture subjects like economics, science, technology and politics, I would probably not vote on your posts that often, but I will keep it in mind.

I am really excited that we are starting to see more and more people from poor countries join Steem, and I think they are going to be very very glad they did over the next year or two.

However, if you offer an idea for something I can help you guys out with, or something you really really think I should look at, I will happily oblige you, and give a full throated honest response to it. And I am pretty good at helping people sort out technical problems, so there is that too.

I am a very approachable, accommodating person, and I won't be mean, though I may sometimes be a bit off-hand (not thinking carefully) sometimes in my responses. I don't think I'm any kind of authority on anything, at all, but I strive to learn as much as I can about things that I think are important.

Thanks for your comment :)

Ok, i will share your link to other aceh steemit friends. Hopefully they are interested and upvote you and I'm sure they want. Best regards from aceh

I think I have done it right by typing your username in the outside top 50 box and clicking vote. It shows that I voted @l0k1

Thanks for confirming. It was my first time voting outside the top 50.

You appear to me as a very genuine and trustworthy person just by reading this post @l0k1. So you got my witness vote. Going to vote for you right now. Best of luck to be in the top 50.

Thankyou :)

You have my continuing support. Good to see you being active again.

my name's easy and no one's voting for me either ;D

well, I'll have to fix that! I don't vote for a big number of witnesses, I only vote for people I know, through having dealings with them. Witness vote incoming!

wait. I don't see @murh on https://steemd.com/witnesses I didn't know a witness could fall off the bottom of that list. Well, I voted for you, I hope you show up in the top 100 soon :)

Thanks! I've voted back on your witness :)

I have 24M votes at this point which is 1/10th of lowest voted witness on top 100 ... I'm somewhere in the top 1000 I think ;)

I think it would be useful if steemd.com allowed you to collapse the list so it only shows active witnesses and not the old ones with dangling votes that have gone dormant.

A full list would be nice ... I'm planning to make some web tools in the style of steemd, unfortunatelly as always I'm really short on time ... But we'll see :)

Also the voting process is pretty convoluted for my taste ... I think that lot of users have never voted for a witness and maybe even never visited #witness-category ...

probably a very large majority, I would think. The interface should facilitate this more, imho.

Hopefully it'll get changed somehow ... it's still a beta :)

Anyway, thanks again for your vote and best of luck with your witness!

What are your server specs and technical expertise?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73