GREAT SUCCESS! Witness Price Feed Automation

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)


(@KLYE rocking the "borat" speedo AKA the Sling Swimsuit)

+1 Robot Training! Price Feed Automagically Updates!

Actually most of the glory should go to @clayop for making this kickass price feed script which I recently swapped in on my witness main and backup servers in order to more accurately reflect prices on my price feed.

Every 5 minutes of the price changes my witness will update my price feed automatically taking data from sources poloniex.com and bittrex.com. This should free up more time on my end and help curb my constant obsessing of checking the charts and checking prices to update my feed manually.

The script is written in python which is admittedly not a programming language I'm particularly familiar with but even I was to get it set up and running. It took me all of 20 minutes to configure and get running and an hour to verify it was in fact working.

Urging Other Backup Witnesses to Automate

While initially the thought of automating the price feed seemed trivial and prefered to manually update in times of possible high pricing volatility it was decided that automation of the price feed was the best way to go.

As stated above it took very little tiem to get the script running and tested. Anyone serious about running a witness node should surely look into automating their price feed.

Installation Instructions

Check out @clayop's github:
https://github.com/clayop/steemfeed

Full instructions on setup and dependencies required can be viewed there. You can also fork it and create your own version! If anyone needs help getting it setup let me know! <3 @KLYE

Bonus: Ridiculously Sexy Speedo Proposition!

If this post payout settles over $100 on payout rewards I will purchase a bright green borat speedo and take a sexy photo shoot for STEEM. Once I'm done moving to new place. :)

Alternatively if you'd rather not have your mind permanently corrupted by the sight of me in a speedo you can always use the comments below to state you'd not.. and still vote. :P


Vote @klye for Witness!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

oh man... there's definitely a green speedo pic in your future hahaha

and I'm pretty sure it will probably eclipse the earnings of your other posts.

Bahahaha. I think that might happen...!

Warn us first, ok?

I may or may not warn of the sexy speedo photoshoot..

If I really wanted to be a troll I'd title it something innocent like...

"Witness Update" lol

Or "My day at the puppy shelter"

ROFL. Now that's just sick! Hilarious! :D

...or picking a mushroom in a hay field.

Please title it in someway like this hahaha

Great idea, but then you would need 2 posts, one to draw in people like witness update, and one like move update and possibly a 3rd like Speedo photo shot! There 3 posts 2 that it can be in with out warning lol

@klye in a green Borat speedo... omg...

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Upvoted and resteemed Hope this makes the $100 for your new Speedo

I'd likely do a super sexy photoshoot or music video with it on.. The possibilities..!

Haha pinged by mention. Thanks for using! :)

It's great man!

I adjusted the update time to 5 minutes to keep a closer value on my feed but other than that the script is awesome man. Thank you for creating this. :)

If this post payout settles over $100 on payout rewards I will purchase a bright green borat speedo and take a sexy photo shoot for STEEM. Once I'm done moving to new place. :)

Tempting ....

not :)

LOL.

I might just get one anyways to terrorize STEEM with.. It can be my official witness campaign suit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35