KLYE Witness Update - 2017 / 06 / 03

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

kwu.png

Salutations to my fellow STEEM network dwellers.
May your day be kind and prosperous.
(Apologies for the hours/day late update, I got caught up with new friends over brews at the peelers)

Every week I try and write a small update as to what I have been up to in regards to my witness activity on our STEEM network. This week saw a some progress and changes to some of the services I've been offering, mainly the STEEM.GLOBAL faucet which unfortunately due to another hand full of multi accounters will not be issuing any more fauceteer licenses until I can implement a new system. The @Tippy project received some attention as well but after looking at my code so far a bit of re-writing of the engine may be needed, more below.

This Week as STEEM Witness

Change is in the air this past week as an evaluation and executive decision was reached to stop accepting new fauceteer subscriptions on STEEM.GLOBAL in light of a handful of users taking it upon themselves to create multiple accounts in an attempt to take more share of the faucet then they are entitled to... (again) It's unfortunate but blame is on me at the end of the day.. The lack of security built into my custom faucet code ends up being to the detriment of the users, the service and thus will have to be overhauled. On the Tippy service side of things some progress was made but it's become apparent that my original structure to the program may not operate how I'd intended and thus may need a re-tooling in order to get where it needs to be.

STEEM.GLOBAL Stops Issuing New Fauceteer Licenses

stahpfaucet.png

Not entirely sure where the saying "This is why we can't have nice things" comes from but it nearly encompasses how I feel having to announce the discontinuation of STEEM.GLOBAL fauceteer licenses due to a number of greedy individuals taking it upon themselves to create number of multi-accounts to try and take more than what the faucet intended monthly payout was. The service interruption WILL be temporary and when I get a chance to look at new faucet software and implement it an announcement will be made on my blog.

On The @Tippy Bot Coding Side of Things

The @Tippy "text-to-tip" service will be one of my proudest achievements here on the STEEM network upon it's completed.. However getting there is a quest that was underestimated by myself initially in both hours needed and complexity. I currently have a version of the bot capbable of incredibly simple balance storing and tippy however fundementally the way it's written is slightly flawed. With the first versions of Tippy there was no thought of being able to turn the bot on and have it scan from the beginning of the blockchain to the current block looking for calls.

Being able to bookmark where the bot has scanned up to and storing it for a starting point in case of failure is a much needed feature but unfortunately is where I've gotten snagged currently on the current version.

The older working versions of the bot utilize the Steem.js module code steem.api.streamOperations which is friggin FANTASTIC at monitoring the current operations / commands going on in the chain but doesn't work for currency transactions as I believe it goes with the most current but perhaps reversible block operation. Please correct me if I am wrong someone in the know.

Roughly 1500 lines of code currently make up the newest version of the @Tippy code which with persistence and a few hours/days of me banging my head in a rhythmic pattern on the keyboard should yield a secured streamline tipping service for our network.

If by some chance I do end up absolutely stuck on how to fix the few bugs I am facing I'll be asking some of my fellow programmer witnesses to have a look at my code and give me a hand debugging things I may be missing. The more brilliant minds working together the better. Have a good weekend everybody and stay safe!


VOTE @KLYE FOR WITNESS

steemit.com/~witnesses
Sort:  

Love the King Kyle illustration.

You do so much work for the community and I have always loved your posts. I was kinda clueless on the witness thing but read up on it and voted for my 30 over the past few days, including you of course. :) Thanks for all you do!

Try to make the network a better place for everyone and push myself each day to do a bit more towards helping all become prosperous. There is a whole underground technical side to this STEEM stuff that I am lucky to be a part of for sure and I'm glad you took the time to read up on witnesses and cast your votes. :)

Cool posts from you..
Like!!!

Thanks Barvon. Have a good day man.

If you had chosen Python for @tippy, I would have offered my help ...
Javascript is a mystery to me, tho :D

The very first incarnation of tippy was in python but the whitespacing and whatnot drives me damn INSANE on python.. If you can python you can Javascript almost guaranteed!

Maybe it's just that the steem-python library has more documentation and comments than the JS api ...

I find it much easier to read than the JS stuff.

Documentation?! Pffffft! I just smash my face against the keyboard and SteemJS does the rest. :P

I hope that you finally finish your @tippy project. It's going to change a lot of things there on Steemit for the better :)
I'm disheartened about the Steem.Global problem. I'm looking forward for your creation of a better software for it.

It will get finished. Even if I have to pay one of my colleagues to unbungle my code a bit!

Going to try to strip it down and have a whack at re-writing the fundamentals of the engine if need be. You only lose when you give up and stop trying. Persistence is an incredibly strong force if used right.

True. As they also say, hardwork and team effort pay off.
You got it, man! :)

One of your proudest achievements requires from you a little more … that’s you who’s feeding like mom and dad to once reveal to the world… worthy)))

I've still very far to go but the success is closer than it was. Thanks for your words. :)

You’re doing well if you can realize that success made by you ain’t the same stuff promoted by money and commercials… Enjoy the way ya brain works; it’s not given to everybody

"Enjoy the way ya brain works; it’s not given to everybody"

These words are very true my friend. We all are built in the brain different. :)

I never know about this..

folowing

You are a my witness.

Thank you for the show of support! <3 Have a gooder. :)

We would love to see @tippy in action! Also, keep the good work!


-- @STEEMBOOST 's signature for today: --
We are continuing our power up rewarding series!
Here is the post!

@tippy help

(older version is currently running if you wanna mess about with it.: P )

@tippy - Help - Steemit Tip Bot


Need Help @klye?

Commands:
tip
balance
ping
info
stats

( @tippy is currently being developed, please don't deposit at this time! )

@tippy - Info - Steemit Tip Bot


@tippy Information

This STEEM network text tipping service created by @steemtqa & @klye
More information to come!
( @tippy is currently being developed, please don't deposit at this time! )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32