How to Scale out the Delegation Service?

in #witness-category3 years ago

Currently, the number of delegators is increasing, and more than 700, Thank you!

According to Top Delegators by Number

image.png

That introduces a problem: to check the posts of all delegators takes time - I set the process to run every 12 minutes - however, checking all of 700 delegators may require more than that.

Here are a few ways to speed up:

  1. skip invalid delegators (blacklisted)
  2. skip delegators that have not posted today
  3. skip delegators that have been voted today already

However, still, it is slow. One way of scaling this service out would be to partition the delegators, so that it runs on multiple servers (scaling horizontally). And each server deals with a portion of the users and has its own voting database which won't affect each other.

We can also merge voting requests from each partition and only perform the actual voting (casting Steem API) on one place.

More work is on the road map!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Thank you for reading ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Follow me for topics of Algorithms, Blockchain and Cloud.
I am @justyy - a Steem Witness
https://steemyy.com

My contributions

Delegation Service

  1. Voting Algorithm Updated to Favor those High Delegations!
  • Delegate 1000 to justyy: Link
  • Delegate 5000 to justyy: Link
  • Delegate 10000 to justyy: Link

Support me

If you like my work, please:

  1. Delegate SP: https://steemyy.com/sp-delegate-form/?delegatee=justyy
  2. Vote @justyy as Witness: https://steemyy.com/witness-voting/?witness=justyy&action=approve
  3. Set @justyy as Proxy: https://steemyy.com/witness-voting/?witness=justyy&action=proxy
    Alternatively, you can vote witness or set proxy here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Keep up with the good work @justyy.

Hi Justyy,
If I delegate you 10000,
do I get 1 vote every 24 hrs automatically on my daily posting?
What is the average amount of voting per 10000 delegation? 15 ?

10K with proxy vote, you should receive a vote of at least 15% fixed

Hi Justyy,
I just delegate you 5,000
and voted you as a witness from @rtytf2 & @rtytf.
I want to see how it goes before I delegate more steem power.
I see people gets $13 ~ $15 per 10,000 delegation, a little more than from upvu.

5,000 additional steem powers have been delegated to you.
Thank you~

Nice.. thank you for your support.

Hi Justyy,
I didn't get any voting on my postings for last 48hrs.

OK. done.

IMG_20210509_191216.jpg

I've delegated 225 SP today and got a vote at weight 0.22% ($ 0.09).
I couldn't understand the calculation. Would you please explain? Please.

Less than 1000SP you will only get 0.001% for every SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77