Being A Witness Is Cheap, Anyone Can Do It for $30

in #witness-category5 years ago

This post is not sarcasm or humorous; it is not expensive to be a witness. In the beginning, when I started being a witness, I thought it would be costly to keep the server, but that is because I was using the wrong infrastructure.

Having a dedicated server is not required. And a server shouldn't cost over 100 dollars.

Right off the bat, to get this out of the way: you can have a server powerful enough to run a witness node for around 30 dollars at contabo.com

I am not being paid to say this and not getting referrals; I want people to know that being a witness is not expensive, so:

  • They can give it try
  • They won't take bullshit when the top 19 witnesses justify their actions or lack of, because "oh, poor me, it is so expensive being a witness."

The server comes with plenty of ram, more cores than you need and a fast SSD and connection.

Captura de Tela 2019-02-13 às 23.53.58.png

Here, for 30 dollars on contabo.com, you can have a VPS that has more than enough resources for this.

Don't you believe it? I have been running my witness node for one month there, and I didn't say I was changing my server because if it failed no one would know.

But I have been running with them for one month, and I have NOT MISSED A SINGLE BLOCK!
Captura de Tela 2019-02-13 às 23.56.59.png

There you go. If someone says, they are spending more than 30 bucks on a server, show that to them. Want to open a node, ​and someone recommended you to use an expensive server? Screw it, Contabo is cheap and works flawless, ZERO BLOCKS MISSED!

Anyone can be a witness. Being a witness is not expensive, the blockchain is not heavy. Don't let them fool you.​

Sort:  

Contabo's network can sometimes be unreliable. I've missed a few blocks in the past with them. However, for starting witnesses they offer good prices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78