Introducing - Steemit Witness Voting - Democracy Matters - Please vote!

I very happily discovered that Steemit is democratically run today. So I click an article about the office of witnesses and this logo pops up saying that voting decides the future of Steemit, and all I end up thinking is, "Geeze, I hope voters are a lot better informed on Steemit than they are in real life." As a little steemit minnow, I've realized my place in Steemit very quickly. I can immediately see how decisions like, "who would make a good witness " are better left to people with more experience in the community. I've read a few articles, and there seems to be some consensus that the best Witness is likely someone with IT and coding experience. As an activist, my interest in this space is encouraged by the overlap of a cryptocurrency with the free exchange of ideas. For me, expanding access for the unbanked to online opportunities is a huge part of what makes cryptocurrency such an exciting monetary revolution. I want to encourage new people, like myself, to get educated about what makes Steemit work behind the scenes and vote for whoever they think will make the best witnesses.

My question to you is: Would a witness with a vision for strategic expansion be a good candidate for the office or are users the best promoters of Steemit and the witness position is best left to invisible architects who make our evangelism possible?

Fear of voting Steemit.JPG

Sort:  

A witness is someone that needs to keep and maintain a server so Steemit can continue running.

Witnesses are tasked with validating and producing the blocks for the blockchain, which ensures everything in the network operates smoothly and correctly. Every three seconds one of the witnesses assemble all of the transactions that have occurred (such as posts, comments, votes, STEEM/SBD transfers) into a "block" and then they store all that information in the distributed database network called the "blockchain".

Thanks for explaining it here!

No problem also why you can only vote once per 3 seconds. Also this is copied from Tim Cliff's witness thread

Dear I am follow your Post Kindly follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68