You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Flags - Should Witness Downvotes Exist?

in #witness-category7 years ago

I'm trying to read this with friends over, which is rude to you and to them, so I'm not sure if I missed this somewhere in your post, but I think downvoting witnesses could work if there were stipulations that you hold a certain reputation, that you've already upvoted witnesses, etc. I don't think minnows new to Steemit should be able to downvote a witness, but I hope I'm not being classist here.

Sort:  

I didn't mention any stipulations on the downvote, but I certainly think a wide variety could be considered. Reputation or account age could be options, with higher numbers allowing more (or any) downvotes.

" I don't think minnows new to Steemit should be able to downvote a witness, but I hope I'm not being classist here."

I don't really think it's classist, I think you are just (rightly) assuming they are less likely to cast good votes. However, given the natures of dpos, minnows have almost no ability to move the needle on witness votes. I saw a good infographic recently that demonstrated this well, but I don't have a link off-hand.

"trying to read this with friends over,"

The multi-tasking is appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57