Witness Update FUBAR-BDHRsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Lot of stuff since my last update. Biggest of course was hard fork 18. While I upgraded my node to 18.1 as soon as it was released I ran into a few issues. First being a backup witness far down on the list there was insufficient time between the release of the software and the hard fork for me to find a block. This resulted in me being forked off the network and my witness shutdown. Also lost some witness votes due to the shutdown. Put the node back online and waited to get a block. This takes nearly 20 hours for 1 block which also failed for no apparent reason. After several more tries, messing with my config file, and getting logging enabled steemd would not even finish the replay. Finally just deleted everything but the config file and let it download and build the blockchain again. This worked and I was finally able to start producing blocks again. Everything is working normally again and I have produced several blocks. Best guess is that when I got forked off the network it corrupted the blockchain. This does show that being forced to upgrade with such a short windows can cause issues especially for those of us that don't get many blocks.

My missed blocks also doubled during the last month. 1 was due to a replay after a shutdown of my node for a reboot for a OS update. This again was caused by a bug in steemd causing corruption on shutdown. The other 5 were during the update to 18.1.

Now for the good news. Parts for my new witness node have been ordered and should be arriving starting tomorrow. You can find the specs in this thread. This will become my new primary node and my existing now will become my backup node.

I still have my SBD interest rate set at 2.5%. My account creation fee has been adjusted to 1 due to the changes introduced in HF18.

Don't forget to support you witnesses by voting for them here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses Since I'm not in the top 50 you need to type in fubar-bdhr and hit vote.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 05 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45