Improving 😍 my skills as a 🐟 Witness!

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

It's been almost 2 hours (plus 30 minutes more for this post)... working late on this.

Everyone is asleep for hours... but I keep exploring! Work has already put me KO, but crypto still pumps me a bit more to learn or accomplish an extra mile more on whatever objective I have set at "my yellow post-its".

Docker Witness Node

Running for more than 8 days!
I can only say that, with uptimes of +150 days in the type of NAS I have, I only expect this to be very stable. I had to pause the Ethereum node due to heat reasons. But once I have my new stash of disks, I will care less for that. And it will be FULL STEEM!

Possibly I can enable some additional API's... but that will come later. First, my focus is on bringing the best quality of service to the community (in regards to the Witness node).

I have another mate in Auckland, and let's say that we both have somehow common interests. And my idea is to run another node of STEEM there. Using @furion kill-switch from the conductor tool he made. Nice stuff!...
Check it out and also provide feedback to him... It helps improving things.

Testing price feed and other SteemTools

Today's objective was to use an Ubuntu VM, and test some of the tools available out there. I have tried the conductor from @furion and the "Instant price-feed" from @someguy123.

It's kind of late and I have been sleeping very badly... so for today, progress was being able to play with some tools. I still need to understand what I think will be best for my environment.

TODO for My Witness:

  • Have a dockerized solution for the price feed.
  • Have price feed updated automatically (DONE)
  • Build a historical of my updates as a Witness (it's kind of, all over the place right now).
  • Add a new webpage for my Witness (not sure yet what).
  • Add monitoring to Grafana for my internal monitoring.
  • BUY A F....ing... UPS! =)

Around New Year... if all goes as planned, my mate has already his NAS upgraded, and then I will be implementing IN LOCO, the second node.

Cheers to you ALL, and thank you for the support. This is a #TeamNewZealand movement!

EDIT (2/12/2017):

I have done some progress on SteemTools over the last 2 days. Spent a great deal re-learning stuff that I do not touch for years (interesting to see how hard is to re-begin). There is a post that I, unfortunately, have not manage to delete in time. But on the other hand, it now serves as a test post. It's this one: Live Testing Post... #1 (DO NOT VOTE)... This was a test and I failed to delete the post - Now being used for Live Testing!

I also managed to get the price feed being updated automatically using @furion conductor, but not yet on a docker like I wanted. I sill need to do some additional tests to be sure if this is going to be the easier solution to me. I have also something to say about it, in regards to documentation that can be improved since I had to pass through the burning stones already. It will all come in the next witness post.





Produce quality SteemCATAPOOM!
RESTEEM if you wish to show others what you have learned... and,
VOTE for Witnesses

I am forykw!

Sort:  

Hi man i've been seeing this word Witness almost every day here but i can't find a good traduction i'm spanish speaker and i can do it in english too but i can't find a good meaning fot that word could you help me. Regards

I now realized you asked something different. The real translation to Spanish would be something like, "Testigo de STEEM" or in Portuguese "Testemunha de STEEM". Basically, someone that can witness something for the blockchain, because it is registered to have that functionality.

Of course... my pleasure. It's similar to the person allowed to do PoS (proof of stake) but here, it's called delegated PoS.

I own certain SP (equivalent to owning a certain amount of coin to stake). Then people around steemit, have the freedom to vote in ANYONE, to decide which persons should be "staking" first. Which ones have more priority. Those will be the "Witnesses" that are in the first places on the table showed in my post. This one.

Everyone has to run the minimum node, to be a witness (that has some requirements in terms of resources... it's not like normal PoS wallets). Then when you get the "chance" to produce a block, you will win a percentage of the block. The remaining will be deposited in the pool that feeds everyone's posts and curations rewards.

To run a witness in STEEM is not like (AT ALL) running a wallet to stake coins... it's much more than that! Just because we need to "select" which persons are credible enough to sustain the network in a healthy way. Everyone should vote for witnesses... Have you voted yet? If not, please do care... it's important even for you!

I understood but i didn't know all the information that you said me here what can i do to participate in a witness group?

What you mean by participate? Voting? If that was the question, then you can vote at any witness you like at "Vote for Witnesses".

For any witness not showing on that page (for example me, forkyw), you need to vote for those in a box that looks like this:

If you referring to how can you become a witness... then I need to do looks for some posts or have a chat with you in steemit.chat... it will take some time.

But I am happy to explain the process. And then you can decide what to do.

But voting... yes please do vote. It's important to everyone on steemit, not just the witnesses.

@minnowpond has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36