Sort:  

It depends on how high up the rankings you are. The 19 witnesses validate blocks every round and get a reward for doing so while the other witnesses rotate in based on their ranking. I've only witnessed two blocks so far and it seems my account has increased by 0.933 STEEM per block. You can see the number of blocks for the top witness on SteemDB. Looks to be 1,371 blocks per day.

Edit: Important clarification as noted in @roelandp's reply: top 19 witnesses get 1/5th the reward of a backup witness, so my experience in terms of SP per block is very different from theirs.

if you are a non-top 19 you get 5 times the amount a top 19 witness gets.

Thank you for clarifying that! That's a very important point. Do you happen to know where that is in the white paper? I haven't been able to find it. I know there are a lot of changes such as the elimination of the liquidity rewards and the change in SP distribution. Thanks for all the work you do promoting Steemit, organizing Steemfest (so far, I may be 0 for 2 in convincing my wife we need to go), and running a solid witness.

would be epic to have you!

Don't know about the whitepaper but in the source code its here:
https://github.com/steemit/steem/blob/147d50e2a7fa44bca2d4986c1eb82b1a2d343a8a/libraries/chain/database.cpp#L2126

Perfect, thanks!

Thanks again. Now that I'm a top 50 witness, I'm going to be spending a lot more time hunting through the code and learning what's going on. There's a lot to figure out. :)

Didn't it change from 19 to 20 top-witnesses ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52