Sort:  

Yep, I've talked with fuzzy and faddat a few times about what they're up to. They are fundamentally different projects at heart, ours being homebrew and built on steem, and beyondbitcoin's being build on top of wordpress.

Thanks for the reply. Do I get this right:

  1. your system is running on top of a steem node
  2. their system is pumping steem node's data into mysql wordpress database

Or am I way off? :)

HW requirements could be very much different. OK, it all depends on how you set up the whole environment and which part is doing most of the job. I suppose that majority of the work falls on getting / transforming steem node data. I might be wrong...

Yep, you got it!

I don't want to get into the HW requirements for wordpress, but reprint really depend on whether or not you're going for performance.

Right now with a reprint installation using the steem.ws public node, page loads are around 700ms. The pages themselves only consume about 4mb of RAM and barely any CPU usage though, so you could run it easily on a $5 VPS. The plan for this budget implementation (and to improve performance) is to implement a caching layer (like wpsupercache or whatever). It will limit the requests to steemd to prevent that bottleneck from occurring on every page load. It would make for a very cheap installation, much like wordpress.

On the flip side, I have a reprint installation also running on a server with 48G of RAM. 40G of the RAM is being used by 2x load-balanced steemd nodes with the remaining 8 is used by nginx/php-fpm. This server is capable of handing thousands of requests/sec to the blog, with each page load ~60ms.

The last scenario I have yet to play out is a cheap reprint instance running in the same datacenter as a steemd node, connecting using private networking. This would end up being a happy middle ground and I'm going to assume the pageloads would be around ~150ms.

The majority of the work is indeed in just parsing the data as it comes out of the blockchain. I started steemphp to handle that, and basically act as an ORM for the data coming in (much like piston does). From there, it's using twig to create blog templates and building the website however you'd like :)

I actually was tinkering earlier and came up with a prototype steem blog just by taking their existing styles and writing some html templates. I think it turned out pretty sweet ;)

Thanks again. You replies are much longer and more to the point that are my questions :)

Prototype looks great. Load times are great too, in any configuration.

It would be interesting to try out the setup with the public node since I am already paying for the Wordpress hosting. This hosting is heavily wp oriented. In fact you can't install anything else. Is it possible to add reprint functionality be to the 'usual' wp setup? I guess it is :) Maybe I would have to convince my hosting provider to open up some ports ...?

If it's a WP-only host, you might have a hard time convincing them to run anything else. Technically it would run on any server that runs PHP though :)

If you don't mind me asking, what do you consider to be a fair price for hosting like that? Once we get everything up off the ground, we're planning on offering hosting as part of our business model to fund future development :)

Reply depth limit reached :)

It is a WP-only host and yes, there can be issues with convincing them to allow something more. It probably depends on how much burden this more represents.

As for the prices. I am currently using two shared hosting solutions.

One, more open, in Germany for around 9 € per month. I-don't-know-how-many domains and databases included :) Apparently more that enough for my needs.

Second in Canada, WP-only, for around $20 monthly. This price is actually the whole package of knowledge base, community, instructions, ... and web hosting. Again, practically unlimited domains.

I guess that the price someplace around these numbers would be OK. Let's say between $10 and $20? With some discounts for yearly deals, beta participants, ...

Why shared hosting, you might ask? I've run my own serves in collocation for many years but got fed with sysadmin work :) It is easier this way if your demands are reasonably low.

Yes, this was before the cloud era.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00