Sort:  

I have to keep an eye on my bandwidth thru the steemd site you mentioned, as I have been strangled a number of times from a sudden drop in allotted bandwidth, and didn't even know what was happening when it first occurred. I am relatively new to the platform, but seeing people talking about issues like abusing the reward pool, whale abuse, bots, the difficulty of getting people to see my posts, and this issue, etc, is hard to all take in. I just wanted to post information and get rewarded based on quality content as seen by the community. I really like this platform, but it seems to me that it needs to stay focused on creating an environment in which original quality content rises to the top and newbies aren't strangled or turned away by all these hurdles, esp with competition like EOS, sapien, and even Facebook.

I always suggest to newbies to read the FAQ first. Steem is a complicated platform and requires a learning period to understand and use it effectively. It's still a work in progress, so many things are lacking.

Yes, that's why I'm sticking around, because I definitely see the potential and can tolerate the inconveniences if there an overall strategy to make sure the problems eventually get ironed out.

Thanks for this awesome post, that made me nearly understand the bandwidth issue, that I have only heard of but fortunately never experienced myself. 😀

Proud to have you voted as a witness. Personally I think 30SP or maybe 50SP delegation to new accounts until they reach 50SP on their own should pretty much most of the problems without doing anything. I mean steemit controls majority of the SP and they are not voting with them either. I never faced bandwidth issues while I was new. It'd be great to know how many people are actually facing these issues.

STEEM is like F2P games. You get the account to try the product. If you also get the product for free, that mess up the economics to make us look like Fakebook. There is no free lunch. If people are using STEEM so much, then spending few bucks to power up or buy delegation shouldn't be a problem unless they are in a very crypto unfriendly jurisdiction.

Yeah. This bandwidth problem is quite problematic.

I first encountered the bandwidth problem when I was registering my account. Got an email saying my account was approved, clicked the link, filled a simple form, clicked the "submit" button, then there it was "Bandwidth limit exceeded" or sth like that. No support page, no email to reply, etc. When I googled it, it told me to go to steem chat or "just wait, and try again later" from a github page. I even registered to github because of this :') Well, luckily after an hour, I was accepted, then here I am.

After being on steemit for quite some time, I believe it's worthwhile to power up using own money when being hit with bandwidth limitation from time to time. However, that should not be the case for new comers. Imagine being advertised "Come to steemit, do things like you are on facebook, and get paid" and suddenly "bandwidth limitation" and people are telling you to pay (=power up) to use the platform, they could just go back to facebook. :D

Yeah, the trust issues with that last sentence would prove problematic. I have a lot of people I'm inviting to join me here on Steemit who really trust me, but I don't think even I could sell that line. LOL

Voting for you as a witness @drakos! Thanks for your service. Referred to you by @jrswab's post.

Thanks to both of you, I appreciate the support.

Very welcome @drakos!

This is a real problem. Just a few weeks ago when I was totally new and barely had any SP, almost every day I would hit negative bandwidth at peak times, even when I had not commented, upvoted, or done anything for nearly 24 hours.

The learning curve here is insane and new users who show up and face the bandwidth limit are unlikely to even understand what that means and will quickly become discouraged.

Your allocated bandwidth formula is missing :
- delegated vesting shares

Your bandwidth decreases, when delegating SP

Thanks for spotting the error. Fixed.

Brutally good explanation with possible solutions short and long term.

Thank you.

I hope this bandwidth issue can be settled once and for all, it can be frustrating sometimes. I really don't understand much of what you said but I do hope the witnesses take a look so I will be resteeming this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68