Sort:  

That is a nice article and i am glad you brought it up. I feel that witnesses are more than often neglecting their responsibilities after they get enough support. Price feed affect each and everyone's earnings hence they must be accurate. I do not want to be getting more rewards than i am supposed to and i do not certainly get less. You've got my vote. Keep up good work!

Thank you. Fortunately, the good witnesses at the top are doing their job well. I'm glad to be one of them, and will continue my efforts in contributing to a sound platform for everyone.

Now THIS helps me to understand what the role of a witness is, AND it informed me of the importance of keeping up-to-date price feeds. I'll be checking out the link provided and educating myself further before voting at all for witnesses. Thank you!

I am not even making a block/day so the price feed is my lower priority. I would like to start the seed node but cannot currently. I want to support more steem with my witness work but I cannot do more right now.

I had my price feed up and running since day one. I too started with less than a block a day. You can run the price feed on the same server as the witness, it doesn't require any additional resources. However I totally understand your position. The post was aimed more at the ones with decent ranking who don't seem to care about their setup.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Yeah I know ;-). We know the main issue with dPOS is voters apathy and seeing it first hand is not reassuring. I feel like not enough people (or SP) care.

I didn't know I was that high(#107) in the ranking. So I just took some time and put up my feed. My only complain is that it doesn't use more exchanges as per https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/steem/#markets.

Also steemian.info rocks!

On other hand, remembering to focus on the price feed can also be a method of proving to potential voters that you are a capable witness :)

ahah one has to choose his battles. Actually the price feed or my having a seed node won't make a difference for most voters. The list of things I want to do for/around steem is already packed: check the security of the (brain)wallet, assess security in general, advance on a PoC ledger nano+steem, write and interact even more,... As long as I stay motivated, I feel like I can do a lot. It's a work in progress to be a full fledged witness. A block per day will be my goal.

I plan on running for a witness as well , hopefully I’ll get there being a woman

Anyone can build their witness node as long as you can manage your own server or someone to manage for you. Can afford losing some $$$ money in the process. Though if you have a lot supporters e.g. Whales and friends, ask them to vote for you.

And extra hours hanging out :)

And guess what. I've created a step-by-step procedure on how to Setup a Witness Server too.
https://yehey.org/witness-update/@yehey/howto-setup-witness-node-by-yehey-updated-tutorial-guide

We love to see your Witness node up and running.

I'm sure you could. Being a woman has nothing to do with it though. It's about being able to technically run servers, bring positive things to the platform and of course gathering lots of voters. We have @patrice who started witnessing a while ago and she's been doing well so far. But please, no cat fights 😸

I meant to say like I know majority of witnesses are men . :D

😼

I need to work on the "gathering voters" part.

Just have realistic expectations. Doesn't matter what gender you are. I do well because I've been working with @steemcleaners since the beginning. I also started @spaminator.

I have the skills to run and maintain a server but I'm not a developer or programmer so I don't have any expectations to make it into the top 20. And I'm fine with that. I'd like to hang out around 40-50 but there are a lot of witnesses who both run a reliable server and have other valuable contributions to the community.

Thanks for the advice ! I know it’s a work in progress but I think it’s about time now

Beautifully explained and well said dear drakos. I am honestly surprised to learn how many top witnesses aren't publishing price feeds, given the simplicity of that process ..

Let the force be with you Pai Mei.
Wait, is he the opponent of Jacky Chan in Drunken Dragon?

I even provided a step-by-step procedures on how to update the Witness price feed.

Cheers,
@yehey

thank you for keeping on top of this, I don't totally understand it but clearly this is some important oversight

I plan on setting up as a witness soon. I have an odd question. I see that the price feed can be done from any computer. Is it possible to complete this task before becoming a witness as sort of a step up process?

You need to broadcast your witness first, telling the system you're up. Then you publish the price feed which is one of the parameters you set for your witness. To regularly publish the feed, you can use Conductor or Steemfeed-JS, respectively ran with python or nodejs, both multiplatform options.

Its pretty good post, you wrote hugely thing that to be knowed by everyone for feed. Ny reading this can guide everyone to analyze how it move. Thank you very much for this post @drakos. I like it best and really appreciate this. Im very sorry @drakos, in this right time my upvote didn't change much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28