Witness Update DragosRoua

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

For the last few days I've been caught completely in other projects so I struggled to find time to dedicate to Steemit. Nevertheless, I accomplished a couple of things and I think they are worth mentioning in my witness update.

  • supported the 0.16.0 hardfork successfully. Although quite a few people complained about the slow reindexing of the blockchain in the new version, it seems I was among the few fortunates ones that have been untouched by this issue. The hardfork went really well and, as of right now, it looks like the price still holds. There was a significant dump - but many people expected it - and even at a high transaction volume (some days at half a million dollars) it went relatively well. It's still early to tell which way it will go, but the fact that we're on a new economy is a positive. Let's see how this play out in 3 months, when probably the ones who really wanted out of the platform will be out for good.

  • solved an annoying bug on steem witness toolbox which prevented my price feed to be updated regularly. It seems that now there are some limitations at the number of transactions you can broadcast per block, probably in order to reduce spam. Whatever the reason, setting up a 5 seconds delay between the 2 transactions I broadcast in the script solved this problem. If you use it, you should update it from Github.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Can I ask that you, as I would like to see witnesses in general do, briefly describe where you stand socially and politically on a few issues of your own choice.

In my opinion, this gives a better understanding of the more personal motivations that could be driving a witness at some point in time.

By all means, go ahead, ask me :)

OK =)

I'd prefer you chose the issues yourself, but for example

  • What political leanings do you have?
  • Are you of any particular faith?
  • Do you go by any principle in your view of how to organize society?
  • What is your future vision for Steem as such and perhaps for the technology (including Golos etc) itself?
  • I don't have any political leanings, but I reject extremism, at any end of the political stick
  • I was baptized Christian but I am not going to church. In my daily life I follow the middle way principles of Buddhism (but I didn't get any official form of empowerment as a Buddhist practitioner)
  • all people are ok, their actions may not be ok at times, but, deep down, all people are ok. All society planning should start from this level.
  • Steem is a fascinating experiment and I see many uses of it. As the technology advances and the community grows, it may slowly become the "go to" platform for any form of de-centralized community.

Thanks for asking :)

Voted for your witness. I don't know why I didn't do it before :(

Thanks for your support, appreciate it! :)

Good work :-)
Let's see how much this super-charges the platform.
I'm strapped in, helmet on, hands on the wheel - good to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98