My Witness Position On The So-Called Steem Fork

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

Two decades in the world of entrepreneurship taught me - sometimes in painful ways - to not react to things, but rather wait, no matter how confusing the wait may be, until the water separates from the mud.

And there has been a lot of mud in the last 30 days on Steemit. As I've read dozens of posts in the last two weeks, I slowly came to a better understanding of the situation, and what comes is my position, as a witness, regarding these events.

Where I Stand

  1. I'm not part of any Secret Slack, Secret Discord Group, or Secret Telegram Group, never been invited into one, hence I never was updated on any plans or intentions of Steemit INC whatsoever, regarding a potential hardfork, or reasons for a power down
  2. I'm not part of any rebellious, non-rebellious, fork-averse or fork-supporting witness group, hence I never supported, directly or indirectly, a Steem chain fork.
  3. I've never been supported, as a witness, by the @freedom account
  4. I'm not part of @steemalliance, although I remember being proposed by a community member

What I Think About The Events

  1. I don't think an aggressive fork was really planned, but it may have been mentioned, as a potential course of action, among other potential courses of action. During the last 2 years since I'm a witness of this platform, I witnessed a lot of drama and violent interaction, including a painful breakup of the founders, @ned and @dantheman. From those episodes, I can clearly observe a tendency to blow things out of proportion, which seems to have happened in this case as well. In other words, there was, again, more smoke than real fire.
  2. I personally don't think a Steem fork will be beneficial right now, for practical and business reasons. We already have a forked chain, called Golos, which is pretty much dead. Other initiatives, like Decent, are more or less stalled, as far as I know. So I simply think the risk / reward balance is just too skewed at the moment for a fork. Let aside a fork in which a part of the tokens is decoupled from their owners.
  3. I will continue to support the current chain of Steem, although I do not always agree with the development speed, the leadership quality or the lack of communication. I did this for more than two years now, and if you search for "witness update - DragosRoua" you may have the surprise to find more than 3,500 results. I didn't count, but I think I have more than 100 distinct updates as a witness.
  4. I deeply regret the highly adversarial position (in the bad sense of the word) taken by some people in the witness community. I have a lot of respect for many of them and I do hope there will be a way to align interests again.

I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

@dragosroua,
Yeah I don't even think this might be a good idea at all! We all should try to boost this chain to the top by trying to work on SMT! Another hard fork for a new chain might not work seriously! Respect where you are standing at!

Cheers~

You have some good points there

If we just take a look at all the forks from different chains in the past we can affirm none of them was a real success.

Even talking about a fork where rightful owners of wallets could be stripped of their holdings by a group of witnesses is extremely damaging to the long term viability of the blockchain.

Any blockchain that can arbitrarily take or destroy the holdings of other users will ultimately become worthless.

There is nothing scarier to potential investors than the prospect of losing their entire holdings on the whim of others..

Any blockchain that can arbitrarily take or destroy the holdings of other users will ultimately become worthless.

100% agree with this.

Well done and well written my friend.
You are and will be always my prefered witness here or in whatever other blockchain.
Don't lose the good mood and positive approach on the steem blockchain, I am really convinced we will success as soon as this bear market ends.

Thanks for the nice words, my friend.

Steem on!

Good reasonable analysis as always. I avoid following the drama and just read your posts to make sure I didn't miss anything important

Thanks for your work as a witness. No fork please, they are an aberration in the minds of dissenting rebels and mutineers. I'm a rebel too but breaking up or balkanising a token, like Steem, is no good for anyone. It goes against the original principle of a limited supply or hard cap. It is basically like QE or printing paper fiat at a whim. It sucks and is inflationary.

I mean forks like Bitcoin Cash and Bitcoin SV-showed that forks fork themselves as well. If you don't agree and decide to leave what stopping from other forking in the same fork?

Exactly.. and there's huge danger down there - each user group detaching from the main line to form its own fork cause an increase in granularity of the market and reduces traffic and fluidity on the main line.. We're almost in a point where every random person can start their own cryptocurrency. That's ridiculous and scary at the same time if you think 'currency' and try to follow the implications (each bigger settlement had its own coins long time ago, right?), but it also shows what a cryptocurrency really is: just a bunch of cross-signed documents stored ... somewhere.

I'm just perplexed. I've been here properly for about three months and STILL things completely elude me. This platform is a long way from maturity, but, I think it will be victorious, with help from people who talk dire tly (and with sense) like yourself.

I really like your relaxed approach. There are some witnesses who had better follow that example.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83