Witness Update: What I have done as a non-developer

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

I have been a back-up witness for almost a year now. When I first applied to be a witness I mentioned that I wanted to "take part in the ongoing discussion about the future of Steemit". My motivation was, and still is, to represent my voters and followers so that their voices are heard on the "Witness Round-Table". But as you all know, you need to have some basic developers skills to become a witness and run your own node, so I decided to learn and it has been a very rewarding experience so far, with the help of some known witnesses I have managed to run my own node and some python scripts.

Now, I have also created some services that I think are useful, there are a lot of new users now so I wanted to make a quick summary of them and their current status:

Steemiobot Twitter: it tweets Spanish posts to give extra exposure to the growing Spanish community on Steemit.

Steemiobot Telegram: Its a telegram channel were you can receive Spanish posts directly to your phone.

SteemFund: A P2P lending system for Steemians. The first loan was made as a test and has been fully paid back. I believe that a reputation based P2P lending system has a lot of potential, the problem I have found is that running all of the loan payments and the website manually can be a lot of work. If anyone with some basic python and coding ability wants to help me out with it, I am more than glad to share the rewards of the @steemfund account.

Voting & Community Building: I have been a long time supporter of building different communities on Steemit. I think one of the best ways to on-board users is by letting them know they can be successful too. In this sense I have been voting on post under the #spanish and #venezuela tags. I think Steemit has a lot of growth potential in Latin America.

If you like my work, please show your support by voting for my witness

Regards,
@chitty

thankyou.png

Sort:  

Nice post, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your continuous help in the steemit community @chitty, especially in regards to the Spanish community because it allows the exposure to steemit to expand and make it more accessible to others!

Thank you for all you do for the Steemit community!

Great projects you have initiated inside the platform to give it more value. I am particularly interested with the steemfund because I want to have at least 500 SP on my account to curate even with less than 100% voting power.
Followed and will be voting for you as a witness. I am new and intend to be active on this community I still have 30 witness votes left i guess I have to use one of them now.

[...]letting them now they[...]

*know

:)

Nice to hear a non developer getting onto The Council of Steem, I'd like to hear more about how hard it was to learn and get yourself up to speed.

Cg

it was more fun than hard, if you have free time and basic linux knowledge I think it can be done.

This sounds like a really cool thing to do. How long did it take you to learn the language? I took a linux class back in college and liked it, as well as fortran, Java, and matlab. Congrats on your success!

Excelente labor, ¿lo de los préstamos está en funcionamiento?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45