OVH vs Vultr: Who can replay a steem node faster and cheaper?

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

As you all know there is a hardfork coming our way and this important event calls for all witnesses to upgrade their servers. I am a longtime supporter of a better voting distribution hence I have upgraded all my witness and seed nodes to version 0.19.0.

Now, while I was upgrading I also tested two well-known VPS providers, my findings were quite surprising to say the least.

Let the VPS Wars Begin!!

robot-wars-growler.jpg Image Source

I started my Vultr server before, so don't guide yourself on the percentage of the replay, instead look at the velocity of each VPS while doing the replay.

On the left side we have OVH Cloud RAM server: 2 Core CPU, 12GB Ram, 50GB HDD. Price $22,39/m.

On the right side we have Vultr VPS: 6 Core CPU, 16GB RAM, 200gb SSD. Price $80/m.

Judging by the specs and the price you would think that Vultr server would kick some serious ass right?..well take at look the servers in action:

OVH FTW!!!

OVH's server even passed Vultr's and finished the replay first! so OVH has proven to be way faster with much less specs and for a much cheaper price.

The one thing Vultr has in favor is that it accepts Bitcoin as a form of payment, but apart from that OVH servers seem to seriously outperfom Vultr's.

You might think that I am an ultra geek for recording this but it was actually quite reveling and kind of exciting too.

Sort:  

The big problem is that OVH has an unreliable network.

It's not immediate, but many witnesses including myself, @klye, and quite a few others had to move off of OVH because their network deteriorates within a month of buying a server.

What seems to happen is:

  • you buy a server from them
  • 1 month later your server is still in the same area, except now their routers/switches are failing, and they've also loaded another 1000 customers onto the same server as you
  • 2 months later, the routers and switches haven't been replaced, there's probably 10,000 customers on the same physical server as you, and now you're missing blocks!
  • you buy another OVH server to get around it
  • turns out your "new" server got placed in the same area, now you're missing blocks again.
  • you complain to OVH support, waiting a week only to get a response in French telling you that this is your fault, and that they are a budget provider and you shouldn't expect a reliable network (yes I have had a response like that before)

I happily use them for my normal web projects, irc bouncer, file server etc. - but never for witnesses. I've even stopped using them as my backup witness because I'd start missing blocks the second I flip to my backup.

These days I host my primary with @privex (you can pay with crypto, inc. STEEM), and backup with a certain US dedicated provider.

Yep. OVH is fine if you're only expected to hit a block once every few days or something... But under load you'll find that their network has it's fair share of hiccups and outages which is the last thing you want if you have STEEM blocks to create.

Oh, I did not consider that.. it was a freshly installed server so that is probably why it was so fast. This doesnt take away the fact that Vultr was slow AF tho.

I am looking forward to @privex launching their own control panel, I like to install and play about with my servers a lot and I wouldnt want to be bothering you all the time with it. But I will deff hire your services when I can create and destroy servers on the panel.

I have complete trust on your abilities as a dev.

I've used OVH for years, from dedicated servers, to their very cheap VPS. Can't recall any service outages, and on the dedicated servers, any DDoS attack was successfully handled, whilst on other providers I would have trouble with DDoS. Is your statement based off one server of theirs? Make sure the specs you're renting are sufficient for what you are planning to do, don't just go for the cheapest VPS, especially if running a node.

@someguy123 @klye I guess you are talking about VPS. What about their dedicated servers?

Congratulations @chitty
You took 51 place in my Top 100 of posts

Looks like kick-ass servers!, what are the prices? i don't understand the 80$/m notation?

$80 US Dollars per month, quite expensive for a server that takes 5 hours to replay the Steem Blockchain, OVH's did it in 2 hours and cost much much less!

Ahh i see, this is the price of renting the server... It is pretty curious that the cheaper one is faster...

Vultr has a much better network, and that increases the cost dramatically.

Here's an example of OVH's network being dirt cheap: https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/3r8uko/ovh_north_american_fiber_failure/

right on OVH is the clear winner. Great tech in that server. Thanks for sharing :) I'm following you

SEE-KING .. "ULTRA-GEEK" .. COnFIRMat-i-ON ??? ??? - )))

YES .. YuP .. YIP ... for SURE !!!!!!!!! - ))
.. ha ha ))))

and, SO THANK+FULL ... i'm on YOUr (s)TEEM !!!!!! - ))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z

... PumpeD & reSTEEMed - ))

Are you sure you didn't mix them up lol?

The one on the left you said was a 12gb server, and it has 12.2gb free. Doesn't compute :)

I am sure, as I understand that is shared memory on /dev/shm which I always set a bit higher than 12gb and I put 12gb on config.ini.

Altho OVH server could have more than 12gb RAM memory available as I also added some SWAP.

Oh wait, nevermind. That's not even memory displayed there - that's the amount of space available within the shared-file as set by the config.

I'm so used to thinking of that value as RAM though simply because I put the shared file in RAM :)

Thank you for your good post. I understand little English and only understand what Google translates for me, but I liked this post.

I kept noticing the word "HardFork"... Did this just happen around 10 hours ago, when all of a sudden, my votes were given extra power...???
@pocketechange

Good information..keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65566.66
ETH 3559.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48