๐Ÿ˜ฏ Curiosity Killed The Cat ๐Ÿˆ... Or In This Case 24 Hours ๐Ÿ™„ - v0.19.2

in #witness-category โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Curiosity got the better of me and I decided to see how long it would take to do a full resync of the STEEM blockchain. I figured it would take a few hours... but damn was I off. I am currently at hour 24, that's right a full day and it's not even finished yet...

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 11.12.17 PM.png

Currently at block 13,240,000 out of 15,160,000 and I have a feeling it will take another 10 hours to finish the rest. Once complete I will have a the actual time for a full resync. Depending on when the next hard fork occurs (which will require a full reindex) we could be talking 48 hours or more to resync. This is quite a long time, what will this mean in the future? I'm not sure, but it doesn't seem like a good thing anyway.

Luckily ๐Ÿค“ ok maybe its not luck ๐Ÿ˜‰ I decided to run this resync on a new machine so that I will have no downtime for my witness. I also ran it on a new machine because it was time for an upgrade...But I'll get into that on my final witness update post! I also have it set to kill my other witness server running once it gets with on 200,000 blocks so not to double produce a block... again. I've been warned

Hopefully see you soon for my final v0.19.2 update post ๐Ÿ˜‚


DQmdbhN3y64jrWwLXKbB19rFV1BnrHnnWnZABtn3573Yzdu.gif
1. Go to the Witness Voting Page on Steemit.com
2. Scroll down to #49 blueorgy
blueorgy.png
3. Simply Click the UpVote Button!

Sort: ย 

Good to know these details. Just voted you for witness.

Hi @blueorgy your post very good . . I like it

Are you using the resync option? I resynced my Seeed node yesterday, and it only took a couple hours.

Hmm Interesting I figured it would only take a couple hours but as you see this is not the case. I believe everything is in order but maybe I missed something that is slowing it way down. I'll take a look after it completes. Thanks for the heads up.

It should only take a couple hours. What I see in your logs doesn't match what I see when I do a resync. Good luck!

You scared me with that title :D

๐Ÿ˜น no cats were harmed in the making....

Haha great! ^_^

Interesting @blueorgy, Numbers are always fasinating. Regarding the future? Who knows? Maybe some policies will allow cleaning historical info? Its a question how far we need to keep the chain. For historical documentatio we want it all. Something to think about. Next decade... depending on the future technology

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Oh man @blueorgy ! You are a BiZzzy~BoDieeee this holiday weekend bend'r ~ enjoy some !!

!! #whalepower !!

You are not alone.. I already passed the 24h mark. Granted, the hardware that I use is not optimal, and its a good reason for me to get to know the code better :)

Wow nice i like you @blueorgy

So is that a good thing or...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71