@bacchist Witness Update for 2017-05-15

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Missed Blocks Due To Network Congestion

Network congestion was the likely culprit for my witness node's latency over the weekend, which led to 11 missed blocks from Friday to Sunday. This is very unusual for my hosting company, but I will continue to monitor closely it going forward.


Signed Blocks


Missed blocks

As you can see, v0.18.2 has been stable for me for almost a month and a half. I believe that the issue is an isolated incident and not a product of my server or its configuration. I expect to remain stable in the future.

Robin Hood Whale Retires

After months of being in limbo, we have decided to formally retire Robin Hood Whale. I have started the process of returning stakes to investors.

While we're all sad to see the project discontinued, it was time. Fortunately, the project did generate profits for investors. So that makes it easier. :)

Monetary Policy

I have not adjusted any of my witness parameters. However, I remain concerned about the inflated price of SBD on the market. All conversions through the wallet will result in an instant loss of 35% to 40% of the market value of SBDs, which is an untenable situation from where I stand. Also, in terms of the actual value of post rewards, a much larger proportion of the rewards are produced as liquid SBD than intended by the 50/50 SP/SBD split. The awarded SBD is worth almost twice as much as the SP... the effects of this dynamic are unclear.

I hope that witnesses are looking very hard at this, just as they would if SBD was consistently valued well below a dollar. Both circumstances are failures to maintain the peg and provide stability to SBD.

Sort:  

I didn't realize that you are a witness. You will get my vote :) need to check it out tomorrow how to do

Thank you so much for your support!

You can vote at https://steemit.com/~witnesses :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50