Anarcho-Andrei Witness Update: 6 December 2017


Boy, it has been quite some time since I put out an update, and I think the last 48 hours definitely deserve some explanation!

Well, despite knocking on wood every time I brought up the fact that my 32Gb server was working well, it finally gave me my first stumbling block. I missed two blocks in a row, but couldn't figure out why. The steem container, the one responsible for running the blockchain, stopped every time I received a block. I checked my memory and it was had been doing fine at around 16Gb used out of the 30 I had allocated in /dev/shm.

This was my first major troubleshoot. I'll admit, I don't have much experience with linux in general, and even less with ubuntu, but I will say this: @drakos and @themarkymark are two of the best guys to go to if you have problems. We went through my node, one step at a time, checking to see what was going on. I disabled my node once my second attempt at a replay failed. First thing I did was deleted my old block_log and download a new one (special thanks to @gtg for having his block_log available for download).

Once that didn't solve the problem after another replay, @drakos asked me to check fstab. The thought hadn't crossed my mind; after all, my previous VPSs didn't have any system configuration setting below the maximum total RAM. Turns out, that's exactly what the issue was. Once I set it to utilize 30Gb of available RAM, I ran another replay, and I've been up and running now for almost 24 hours.

I apologize to everyone who voted for me for being down for so long. However, I thank you for your continued support. Once again, thank you to @drakos and @themarkymark. You guys are a wealth of information, and you've yet to turn me away when I've had a problem. :D


If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet and the Fiction Workshop on Writer's Block:
DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

Sort:  

Live and learn man. Keep doing what you're doing

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I few hiccups along the way are not going to change that I vote for you. That you're open about your challenges and work hard to fix them means a heck of a lot more than never having them.

I've never worked with Ubuntu but fstab is always a pain.

I'm sure a lot of people never even noticed you had issues. If anyone does in the future--I can recommend wandering by The Writers' Block and asking, if he isn't already posting in the Witness channel about his debug work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84