Anarcho-Andrei Witness Update: 1 November 2017


Another hard (sort of) week of witnessing is behind me, and another one lies ahead!


This week was once again relatively uninteresting. I haven't missed any blocks, and my two servers are running like clockwork. Life is good! So instead of talking about what I have done in the last week, I'm going to spend some time talking about what I'm planning on doing in the upcoming months. Like I've said elsewhere and mentioned on the last State of the Witness episode, running a witness server isn't glamorous nor is it particularly exciting. What matters is what you do with it!

  • Getting @rhondak a heater! - I've spoken often about @rhondak, and many of you know that she runs a shelter for abandoned animals in southwestern Virginia. Well, with winter coming, it's going to get very, very cold. In this post she made from the official shelter account she talks about the need for an electrician to come in and convert an outlet so that she can run a heater to keep her shelter building warm in the winter. To that end, I'm planning on starting a GoFundMe page to try raising funds for her, and I'm going to be pushing for engagement from the Steemit community; the finest community in the world for raising funds for good causes!
  • Upgrading to 32Gb servers - This is the next important item on my list. The 16Gb servers I have will work for now, but the blockchain is already approaching the limit that my servers can comfortably run it at. As such, over the course of the next month, I'm going to be purchasing two 32Gb server instances to run my witness nodes on. This is a step I would have liked to have taken once I was better position to support the expense, but I'm here to stay, and I'm committed. In for a penny, in for a pound, right?
  • Editing my novel - Those of you that follow me have no doubt read part of my novel, which I am releasing under the title A Darkness Below here on Steemit. Well, Steemhouse Publishing has been a project that I've talked with others on the Writer's Block for some months now and I've wanted my novel to be one of the first projects on the block. To do that, though, I'll have to ramp up the quality dramatically. To that end, once I'm done with my semester and with studying for finals, I'm going to sit down with my novel and red ink the hell out of it. This is going to be a long term project, but this is the one I'm most excited about.

If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet and the Fiction Workshop on Writer's Block:
DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

Sort:  

@anarcho-andrei, you are an amazing human being. Thank you so much for what you said in the post, and for your giant heart toward helping. You've done so much for this rescue already. . . the very keys I'm typing on, I owe to you.

Pffft. A laptop is just a laptop. It's what its put towards that matters, and that's why I endeavor to help one of Steemit fiction's most awesome people. Thank you for everything you do. :)

Rhonda bawls

I will do everything I can with this laptop to change our world for the better. :-)

Hopefully I can help with that if I'm diligent enough in editing and proofing my novel. XD I hope that I can be one of the first books we publish.

I hope so, too, 'cause I'm kinda counting on it. . . .

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

And that dear Steemians is what a Witness does. Good stuff @anarch-andrei. Sending @rhondak / @tarc my love and twopence as often as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76