Voting For My Favorite Witnesses On Steemit!!!

Hello Steemians!

I did something really important today, I firmly believed I did.

Yup, you are right - it's voting for witnesses!

Honestly, I am so proud of myself right now that I am sharing this with you because I believe that voting is the right thing to do for all of us Steemians. Just like how we vote for our government in most countries, voting for witnesses is a way to exercise our rights as users.

Why Should You Vote?

You should vote because:

  1. You actively influence the direction that Steemit is heading towards
  2. You actively influence the type of content you want to consume on Steemit (eg. topic, format, style etc.)
  3. You indirectly build 'influencers' (witnesses) who can help you in the future (eg. upvotes, comments, resteems)

If there is/are problem(s) that you've observed on this platform, and you're powerless to solve these problem(s) yourself, then voting is how you're going to solve the problems.

I believe that when you vote for a witness, you're supporting a fellow user because he/she shares the same vision and mission as you on Steemit. For instance, I am a huge fan of transparency so I will only vote for witnesses that are transparent and promote transparency among users.

If you believe that Steemit needs to have more content discussing cryptocurrency, then you can vote for witnesses that enable more content like this!

*Disclaimer: There are plenty of responsibilities that a witness must bear. Honestly I do not understand how the technical part of this works, so I am not valuing these factors into deciding who to vote/not vote for. For more insights into the responsibilities of witnesses, read this guide by @pfunk.

How Can You Vote?

Shoutout to @crimsonclad for clarifying how to vote for my favorite witnesses. I hereby quote her:

You can go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and either choose witnesses that are already in the top 50, or enter a name in the box at the bottom to vote for a witness who may not be visible in the top 50 list. You will likely end up doing a combination of votes.
You get 30 total votes, and they are NOT permanent choices. You can move them as you see fit, at any time. It's a way to keep choices accountable, so as projects are launched, initiatives are taken, or time goes on, you can shift your votes accordingly. Most witnesses make occasional update posts and will do things like interviews or be available on steemit.chat or discord, so you can figure out who lines up with what you want to see happen.

Here's how you can do it:

#1 Click on this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

witness voting.png

#2 Check out the list of top 50 witnesses and vote (click the same icon as upvoting content) for your favorite ones.

witness voting.png

#3 If your favorite witnesses are not listed in the top 50, you can still vote for them by entering their account name in the given slot below the top 50 list.

witness voting 2.png

Who Did I Vote?

Because I'm new to Steemit, I don't know many witnesses yet.

Out of the 4 witnesses that I am know on Steemit, I voted for only 2 of them.

Voted

  • lukestoke.mhth
    I voted for @lukestokes because he is very active on Steemit as a content creator by creating plenty of content about various topics (though I'm not a fan of most topics).

  • followbtcnews
    I voted for @followbtcnews because he is transparent by consistently updating on his works as a witness. I admit I may not understand some of his updates, but I do appreciate and respect the transparency.

Did not voted

  • joseph
    I did not vote for @joseph because his form of content does not suit my taste. He produces plenty of content that consistently makes well above $100, however I feel that his content is more of a news outlet. Personally, I prefer to consume knowledgeable content rather than informative content. Information is useless unless we learn to execute them as knowledge.

  • jerrybanfield
    @jerrybanfield is the first witness that I encountered on Steemit, and I did want to vote for him. However recently, there has been some weird ass controversy going on around him so I am withholding my vote for him currently.

Please take note that you DON'T have to vote for the same witnesses as I did. You should be clear with what you want, then vote for those who can provide you with what you want.

Reflection

If you've voted, congratulations!!

If you've not, then go ahead and vote now!!

Steemit isn't just another social media platform - it's a platform that YOU can have a direct influence over. So go out there and vote for users who can help make Steemit a better platform.

Sincerely from,
M


Who did you vote as your witnesses? Let me know in the comments below!

You can keep in touch with me here too:

Instagram | Facebook | Youtube | LinkedIn

M is the Founder of Commodum - an ecosystem centralizing all resources for student entrepreneurs. Subscribe to Commodum if you want to have a supportive, efficient and convenient journey in entrepreneurship.
Sort:  

Thank you very much for your vote.. It's is very much appreciated and we promise to try to keep doing the best we can.

I believe you can, and you will! @followbtcnews

If you ever need any help, I'm just around the corner. I'm eager to help grow Steemit towards the right direction!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aaronmcheong to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I appreciate the shout out, but more so the thoughtful consideration of what it takes to start building a Steemit career that includes stewardship of the platform. Thanks for giving a shit, essentially. I think we would see some really interesting things if all new users started to think about things as carefully as you have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82