You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Evening Reflection: Do we "create" our Own Luck?

in #wisdom6 years ago

What comes to mind as I read your response, it that there's difference between "fortune" and "luck." Misfortune does tend to come with a series of hardships. But I have also seen unfortunate people be lucky.

For example, my friend M-E had much that kind of background... and yet she has a remarkable knack for putting herself into situations where uncommonly "good things" happen to her. Why? What's that mechanism about? Is it just determination? Or is there something else at play, on top of that?

Sort:  

My last comment on another thread reminded me I was going to come back to this comment. I was really tired the other night and what I had thought of responding back was more than my brain was willing to put into thought. I don't think being born into a family like that is unlucky or a misfortune technically, it was just a preexisting set of circumstances that were well into play before my siblings or I were even thoughts. Considering all the suicides in the prior generation, the alcohol abuse, etc., it had become entrenched into a pattern of behavior that seemed normal. If it seems normal then it's neither being lucky or unlucky it's just normal. I had several years of counseling before I understood that. I often wondered why I attracted to alcoholics like a magnet....because the behavior seemed normal. Determination can come into play, at times though you are still predestined to limitations no matter how much determination you have. If one has/had opportunity/opportunities to see a difference and break the cycle of abuse there may be mechanism that come into play whereas something good comes along that may shield them, whether that be on a long or short term basis goes back to the limitation(s) issues, what others are willing to acknowledge and accept.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64