Whats in our heads? And who are we to say we are experts of anything?

in #wisdom6 years ago (edited)

I think about how often I hear people talk about things "we know." It's used in that tense, also, as if everybody actually voted on something. I get caught up sometimes, too, sharing something I looked up on the internet and casually mention as if it's just small talk that, "We're building a quantum computer in Maryland."

I catch myself all the time. Here we are on the internet, too, sharing news, art, and stories, and it's all so sure of itself I think we forget where all this experience and knowledge still came from - the physical body. How come we don't think about our bodies as being perceptually challenged? Why do we think the sensitive devices we build are sound in theory?How are we not unconsciously building confirmation biases into the equipment we use to interact with this reality? I obviously have tons of personal questions for people who are experts in this field, but for now I'm settling for this moment where I can clearly write this down.

What I'm trying to put down is this notion that we really do know what this life -- this (if you survive) 70 to 95 years' experience that we are living and breathing and loving and hating in -- is really 'about.' By about I mean I don't mean the whole 'why are we here,' because even though that might help some it still doesn't mean anything to the others who think we might not like why we're here. ‘We’ has been hijacked, and I don’t think it means what you think it means.

I'm not trying to put down one groups perspective, I'm just trying to point out that I don't see discussions about our subjective experience, and why we don't use the tools we have been given to discover as much as we can about this human life. We have the brains(consciousness), and we have bodies, and according to many we also have spirits. This isn't something I think people are including in discussions about what we should be researching and pioneering. This isn't even acknowledged in society where in the united states we have been stripped of ‘less convenient’ subjective experiences and emotionally sabotaged. Don't talk about rape, don't talk about racism, don't talk about ecology.

When I hear about research in the states I hear about pharmaceutical drugs, 'cryptocurrency,' new GMO species and selective pesticides. Where does that say our interests as a society lie? Well, first things first, we don't like the way the planet was handed to us. Second, we like numbing and changing different aspects of our experience, and third we like creating money without value so we can steal all the pieces without anyone knowing. Like monopoly! No, but seriously -- we like video games, virtual reality, digital social interaction and digital economies based on digital assets.

Why spend so much time consciously modifying our experience? Why look at the screen all day long when you've got trees and fresh air outside? What's left for us out in the few forests that we have left? Was that narrative too boring, too naive, or too real of a reminder of what pressures created our species, and what pressures currently exist to shape us into a species that survives what is to come? I think about the world we're building on the internet and the things that 'we know,' and I wonder how the body that we live in is supposedly 'impervious to bullets.' By bullets, I mean questions like, ' why do we have a small group of people deciding what gets talked about and what gets looked into for the rest of us? I want to find this out, I want to see what everyone's story says and what they have experienced and I think I would see all of it if we just used input from as many humans as we can. I want 'we' to mean we all voted about it and found out what the answer was together.

So why don't we trust the narrative of the subjective experience? Did we lose trust in everyone's ability to choose wisely or something? Comment below

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62701.29
ETH 3435.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58