This is my entry into the "My Ever Dragon" Contest

in #winyoureverdragon6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians


I came across an very interesting contest some days ago, which is the "MyEverDragon Competition" hosted by @creativecrypto. This is the link if you are interested.

https://steemit.com/competition/@creativecrypto/myeverdragon-competition-get-your-design-made-into-a-digital-asset

I was quite busy for the quite few days and wasn't able to meet the deadline of this contest. That being said, I really found the contest to be interesting, so I have created this post because I really enjoy drawing and designing dragons


MyEverDragon Entry

This is my Entry




This is my entry into the contest, it is probably too late, but I still enjoyed the design process, and hope that you find this post interesting.

Animated Gif

This is an animated gif of the drawing process



Drawing Process

These are the steps that I followed to create the drawing

Step 1 - Pencil Sketch


I find dragons to be very fascinating, and hence I have created several dragon drawings.
This is one of the pencil drawings that I have created.

Step 2 - Editing the Pencil Drawing


I do not know much about advanced editing tools, hence the main software I use for editing is "Paint". In this process, I try to make the Dragon look strong and fierce.

Step 3 - Adding Color


This step, I start coloring in the Dragon, I have tested out different colors for the Dragon, and in the end I went with Blue and Purple. The yellow color adds to the effect of making the Dragon look powerful.

Step 4 - Creating the body of the Dragon


First creating a sketch of the body of the Dragon to ensure that it fits the image



I then start coloring in the body to ensure that the same design and color from the head is applied throughout the body


This is what it looks like now with the body

Step 5 - Adding the Wings


I start with a rough sketch of the wings, and add the blue color to the wings to make sure that it is consistent with the head and body



After some time of editing, the wings look like this.

The Final Design


This is what it looks like in the end. The wings can still be improved. If this is chosen, I am happy to edit this drawing further. Even if this did not make the contest, I had fun creating this dragon.


Hope that you enjoyed this post

These awesome page dividers are created by @Kristyglas

Thanks for your time and have a great day!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55