Winter Stores/ Pear Compote/

in #winterstores6 years ago


As I should eat a lot of fruit, and in winter it is always less fruit than in the summer, I decided to make a compote for winter, from my own fruits.
I do not know if everywhere in the world has this custom. In my country the compote is traditional deserted in winter. Even now, many people are making winter stores, not from some fancy fashion or something, just tradition is still alive.


image.jpg


The recipe goes like this:


The pears have to be cleaned of pits, cut into cubes and put into the jars. There can be added few dry plums or apricots, and lemon or orange slice. Water is then poured into the jars with fruit, to cover the fruit. Sugar can be added as desired and spices such as cinnamon, anise or vanilla. Jars have to be firmly closed. They arrange into the large pot in which water is poured, so that water is two fingers under the lid of the jar. When the water is heated to boiling, it should be cooked for 30 minutes. In that way fruit in the jar will be cooked and pasteurized. After cooking, jars have to be taken out of the water, and when they are cooled, set them in a cold place for winter stores.


image.jpg


It is very important that the jars are firmly closed. If the jars are reused, the lid will not be tighten firmly, so nylon should be placed before the lid.


My favorite spice for a compote is star anise! I love its smell and taste!



Thank you for your attention!


@andrijana

Sort:  

Super!
In Russia this tradition still exists.
Moreover, not only compote is prepared.
A lot of harvesting different pickles, caviar from zucchini and eggplant, mushrooms, jam.
The green stuffed tomatoes are rolled in cans - it's so delicious!
Watermelons are also salted! I liked it - it's unusual.
Almost everyone does it! Even the young wives!

Yes, it is Slavic custom. :) And it is still alive. :)
I'm wondering if elsewhere in the world that custom exist.

In Russia this custom will never disappear.
Especially in Rostov-on-Don!
This southern city, known for its hospitality, the ability to cook deliciously and bake, on holidays is full of traditions.
With home food nothing is comparable!
In Cyprus, this is already a thing of the past ...
Young people do not even want to cook their own homemade food ...

That is very sad for Cyprus people. Here in Croatia is normal thing to cook at home. In young generations it is normal that male cook too. I enjoy cooking. I'm not doing anything complicated, but I cannot imagine life without it.

I completely agree with you!
How can eat fast food all the time?
If they feed their children so, their daughters will not cook either!
It's very sad ...
After all, it's about health!

Yes, I agree. But they will not be healthy ,so will have to start cook again or buy healthier food.

compote-making sounds better than jam, which always boils for hours

Pear jam needs more than 5 hours to be cooked! After 5 hours I added grated coconut for one round, and for the second one kuzu (instead of jelly). I had no patient to cook it more than 5 hours. It is hot here. 33 in shade...

We do that too in Poland :) A little less now, but when I was a kid all the excess fruits from our orchard were preserved in compotes, jams or frozen.
I like to add clove to pears.

Clove is a good idea! I have to remember that next summer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58979.17
ETH 3236.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33