Bubblewrapping the tropicals

in #winter5 years ago (edited)

A couple of our heat loving plants are suffering a bit in the cold. I was thinking about what to do about it, having moved them several times into warmer microclimates to no avail.

I thought about buying some greenhouse plastic, then remembered that I had a heap of bubblewrap salvaged from an art gallery that was going to dump it.

The result...personal greenhouses for the affected plants - two Tamarind and two Moringa trees.

Just add a couple of garden stakes for a frame and wrap the plant, pot and all, in bubblewrap.

I made sure the plants weren't touching the plastic and that there was a small gap at the top to help reduce condensation.

I reckon I'm on a winter winner!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm going to look at doing this with just some cheap painter's plastic, but to keep deer off my berries. Wish I'd have seen this post a couple months ago!

Anything will work, I just had lots of bubblewrap spare. I reckon for deer, make sure it's kind of loose so it makes noise in the wind and if they touch it

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 0.69% upvote from us for your 90 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79