Mid Summer Garden Harvest Ontario Canada.......Preserving Options

in #winter8 years ago

The Farmers Almanac just released it's predictions for Winter 2016-2017, here in Canada we are going to get a good Wallop of snow. I live in central Canada and an avid Gardener, both Summer and Winter. This Blog is going to follow all of my successes in growing and preserving my crop from both season's gardening. So it's mid August and by now most varieties of Pepper's, Tomatoes, Bean's and Cucumbers should be ready for harvest. So folks what are you going to do with all the harvest that will see you through this bleak Canadian Winter. The usual options are Canning, and freezing. But have you ever considered, eating it now and just continue planting well into the winter? It can be done, even here in Canada. I don't know about you but last winter I spent $7 on a head of Cauliflower. That was enough for me folks. So I put it to the test and determined yes you can grow in Containers all winter long without breaking the bank on hydro. I planted potatoes, Broccoli, Tomatoes, and green peppers. The next series of blogs will entail how to store root vegetables for your winter enjoyment, and when I will start my seeds for a consistent crop all winter, and much much more about Gardening. So Folks keep an eye open for my daily posts and follow my food journey this Season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40