Home Mining With WinMiner

in #winminer7 years ago

During the recent NiceHash miner blackout I decided to try available alternatives. I've had two requirements:

  • works on Windows,
  • easy to use.

From several options that I've tried only WinMiner fit the bill. And it did that easily.

Here is the outcome of last several days.

I am running it on my desktop machine (Intel I7 with 32 GB of RAM and GTX 1050 graphic card.

The miner is not working all the time. It is active in the computer's idle time mostly.


Make It Work

The procedure is really straightforward:

That's it, honestly.


Advanced Stuff

Yes, you can fine tune it, of course.

Here are some options.

The coins mined:

Miners used:

Mining mode:


Withdrawal

The withdrawal limit is $10 or more with various options. SInce I didn't reach the limit yet I can't confirm it. I will do this in a day or so and write a follow up article about it.

The options and minimums to withdraw are:


Referral Program

There is none.

Why there isn't one, WinMiner makers?


The Verdict

I like it. It works. When the final step, withdrawal, will come through too, I will be a happy camper.

So far, I recommend it.


Be Patient When Joining

You can imagine that registrations are plenty. There is a waiting time to be accepted. You can leave the client running and it will try to connect to mining pools from time to time.

I don't know how long the wait is these days. Give it a week or so. Be patient.

Sort:  

I never mined before. what can I expect with a gtx 1070? and a 4.4GHZ ht intel i7?

That's a decent card for pc/hobby level mining.

thx. do you know if there are faster mining alternatives? If I understand correctly, I mine crypto with my pc for that company and they give me a cut. Wouldnt it be better if I mined crypto directly?

Yes, just just search for "mining pools" here on steemit or google. Be aware these pools have fees as well, but they are usually lower. Plus, you can search coinmarketcap for new coins to mine with low difficulty, and may get lucky if the coin values later in time.

You can expect an outcome similar to what I am getting.

If you are not playing games or doing something intensive the computer is idle most of the time anyways :)

is mining even worth it bro? I have never looked into it, great post by the way!

Thank you.

It is worth it when you look at it from the perspective.

I am mining at home from last January at NiceHash and now with WinMiner. Collecting bitcoins and hodling them. When you think how much are satoshis, mined last year, worth now then ... you get the picture :)

The other option is to skip mining, to buy some BTC or whatever and hold it :)

This is recreational / hobby / home mining after all.

Ahh yes interesting thankyou!!

THXS. I'll check it out. I tried WINETH but couldn't get it to work.

You are welcome. I didn't try WinEth. I did try MinerGate (outcome too low, complicated withdrawal which is separate for each asset mined) and some other tool which interface was so bad that I promptly ditched it and forgot its name :)

I tried winminer, but Norton won't let me go there. It wouldn' let me download Minergate either, but I got around that by using Bluestacks then running the app. Minergate also has cloud mining for Monero, I bot a 50Hash contract less than a month ago, should have return of capital in 300 days.
Coinpot also lets you mine from the browser, I'm mining Doggies there.

I've had a great experience with Winminer. I just posted an article of how I used in a VMware environment. I made an easy $20 in a week.

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@gg713/cpu-bitcoin-mining-with-vmware-and-winminer-i-made-a-free-usd20-in-a-week

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40