Wine Comparison: Canadian Pinot NoirsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #wine6 years ago

The SAQ (the state wine stores in Quebec, Canada) recently received a few bottle of Canadian Pinot Noir. I jumped on them like a dog on table leftovers.

I bought two bottles, the Quails' gate 2016 from the Okanagan Valley in British Colombia and the Domaine Queylus Tradition 2014 from the Niagara Peninsula in Ontario. Those two main wine regions in Canada are separated by 3400km and 4 time zones. I decided to open them both and to compare them.

wine.jpg

Quails' gate Pinot Noir 2016:
I already tasted the Gewurztraminer from this Estate and I really appreciated it. I had expectation concerning this bottle which were not completely met. The main aromas were smoke and plum. I had those aromas once in an Oregonian Pinot Noir and I always think it is a bit weird. In the mouth, there was hint of saline water. It was a light bodied with a ruby color. That was interesting but not a kudos.

My rating would be a 3.3/5

Domaine Queylus Tradition Pinot Noir 2014:
This wine was all about finesse and elegance. It was a bit more tannic than the Quails' gate and It was also more complex. It opens on cherry and raspberry but I has well-balanced wood. This was an exquisite wine.

This domaine makes 3 Pinot Noir, Tradition, Reserve and Grande Reserve. They want to mimic the Village, Premier Cru and Grand Cru from Bourgogne. The tradition is supposed to be the Village AOC and I think it is as good as Village AOC from Côte de Nuits. I'm really excited to try the better quality version from this domaine.

Final Rating: 4.8/5

Sort:  

Congratulations @tundraeater! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tundraeater! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88